Hey, friend. So, you’re ready to get your Florida driver license? Of course you are. The days of riding around with your friends, taking bae to the movies, and not having to ask mom for rides are so close you can taste them. But there is just one thing standing between you and your sweet, sweet freedom: The DMV.
Here at Aceable, our goal is to help you conquer the DMV beast as quickly and as smoothly as possible so you can get to that solo driver status! Let’s dive in and find out what it’s gonna take to get you there.
Because teen drivers can be kinda sketchy on the road (you know it’s true!), Florida has a Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) law in place to help minimize the risks associated with first time drivers. This law applies to anyone under 18 and has three different stages: Learner permit, intermediate driver license/provisional license, and full privilege driver license.
To apply for a learner permit in Florida, you have to be at least 15-years-old and have completed the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. Haven’t taken the TLSAE course yet? Let us help you with that.
Once you’re done with the TLSAE, it’s time to roll up to the DMV. But you have to arrive with more than just your good looks and sparkling personality. Here’s everything you’ll need to bring with you:
- A completed Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor form
- Proof of your identity (e.g. a certified U.S. birth certificate)
- Your social security card
- Proof that you have completed TLSAE (or your out-of-state permit, if you’re new to FL.)
- Proof of your Florida residential address
Got all those docs on lock? Perfect. Once you provide those to the DMV, they’ll need you to pass a few tests before handing over that permit:
- Vision exam
… but can you see tho?
- Hearing test
Your mom may think you can’t hear when she asks you to do chores, but here’s your chance to prove her wrong.
- DMV written test
Go HAM, fam. You got this!
After you prove that you can see, hear, and that you’re a driving genius…congrats! You are now rollin’ with a permit. It’ll take you a hot minute to get the hang of things, so for the first three months, you’ll only be allowed to drive during daytime hours. After that, the road is all yours until 10 p.m. No matter what time of day you’re driving, you ALWAYS need to be with a licensed driver who is at least 21-years-old. So make sure to bring along your mom, dad, cool older cousin, or even your math teacher. Just kidding, literally never ask your math teacher. That’s awkward af.
As much fun as it is to have your learner permit, I know you’ll want to move up to your provisional/intermediate license ASAP. To do that, you must log at least 50 driving hours and 10 of those need to be at night. I doubt it’ll be a struggle to get you behind that wheel, so it should be easy enough to get your driving hours completed.
Like I just said, to move on to your intermediate license, you have to log at least 50 driving hours, with 10 of those being at night. You also need to be a human person who is at least 16-years-old and who has had their learner’s permit for at least one year without incident (so no car accidents or speeding tickets, you!)
After all that’s taken care of, it’s time to head back to the DMV. They’ll be so happy to see you again! Buttttt they’ll also need you to do the following:
- Submit your LF learner permit (or out-of-state permit)
- Pass a driving test
- Submit certification that you’ve completed the required behind-the wheel hours.
As you’ve probably guessed, once you have your intermediate license, you’ll have a little more freedom. Aw yeah!
— If you’re 16, you can drive unsupervised between the hours of 6am and 11pm.
— If you’re 17, you can drive unsupervised between the hours of 5am and 1am.
And it gets better! If you are driving supervised by a licensed driver who’s over 21, you can drive at ANY time of day or night. How ‘bout them apples?
Full Unrestricted Driver License
Ahhh, 18. Turning 18 comes with a lot of perks. You get to graduate high school, you get to vote, and your intermediate license turns into a full-privilege driver license. Yasss! No time-of-day restrictions, no supervision necessary. Now go, little one. Go drive, go be safe, go be Aceable!