47% OFF WITH OFFER
SALE ENDS IN
Join more than 1 million families who trust Aceable
Use our Parent Tools to track student progress and see student scores on exams and practice tests
Our friendly, local customer service agents are available 7 days a week
Save an average of $300-900 on instructor fees by learning from a parent or guardian
Save $55 on your course when you become an Allstate Roadside Member
With Offer $60
"I love Aceable I was able to do it whenever and wherever after school or after practice."
Iliana B. | San Antonio, TX
Do you want teen drivers ed that's both convenient and comprehensive? Skip the classroom and earn your learner permit at your pace via our mobile-friendly course. This online teen drivers ed course is highly interactive, perfectly fits your schedule and keeps teens engaged. Get the best parent taught drivers ed in Texas, also known as PTDE, that's easy, yet effective. Aceable is a 100% Texas DPS and TDLR approved app and provides the shortest online driver education course allowed by law. Texas driving school on the go, on your time. Start today with our Texas drivers ed parent taught course! Lea esta página en español!
Purchase our state-accredited Texas parent taught driver education course for students ages 14-17.
Want to learn more about parent taught drivers education in Texas? Check out our detailed Step-by-Step Guide to help answer all of your questions.
Not ready to commit? Start for free and buy when ready.
In order to complete your PTDE course, you’ll need to choose a parent or guardian to be your driving instructor. This can be a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, grandparent, or step-parent, so long as they have a valid drivers license, have held their license for at least three years, and meet a few other requirements.
After you buy, we will email you more information on what you need to do to get started! This includes a link to purchasing the PTDE Program Guide from the TDLR for $20, which you will need before you can start.
Read over your PTDE packet and finish the first 6 hours of our Texas teen drivers education course. Take the written exam and permit test in-app! After you pass, we'll send your Certificate of Completion to get a learners permit.
* While students may begin their PTDE coursework at age 14, the student must be 15 years old to take the permit test.
Aceable sends you a checklist of forms you'll bring to the local DPS to get your Texas learners permit. There, all you have to do is take an eye exam.
Finish up your remaining 26 hours of Aceable driving school and practice driving with your parent instructor. You'll need to keep track of all 44 hours of behind-the-wheel driving lessons you take with your instructor in your PTDE packet.
All Texas Drivers Ed students are required to complete the Impact Texas Teen Drivers program(ITTD). This 2-hour video course is free on the DPS website and covers topics like distracted driving statistics in Texas. This needs to be completed less than 90 days before you take your final driving exam.