Florida Learner's Permit Test Online

  • 100% online Florida permit exam. Complete on a computer or smart phone.
  • Florida DHSMV-authorized
  • Rated 4.9 out of 5 stars. More than 200,000 families have chosen Aceable
$25 TAKE THE EXAM

Permit Test Information

Skip long lines at the DMV and take your Florida permit test (also known as the DATA test or Drug and Alcohol Exam) in our top-rated, state-certified mobile app. Already completed the Drug and Alcohol/DATA course? If you’re between ages 14 and 17, you can take the Florida DMV learner’s permit exam online with Aceable on your phone, tablet or computer. Get started now and see why over 200,000 of families have chosen Aceable to teach safe driving.

DMV Approved & Certified Course

We’re the easy and convenient way for Florida teens to complete the DMV written test. Ace your learner's permit exam so that you can take the next step in gaining your independence!

Already Completed DATA? No Problem!

While Aceable does offer the full Florida Drug and Alcohol Course (formerly DATA), you don't have to complete this course with us to take the test from our app. We want you to pass your DMV exam quickly and conveniently, on your own time!

Designed For Mobile

Aceable is the first native app for iOS and Android devices that allows you to take the Florida DMV exam. But you can also take the test on a computer. Whatever works best for you and your schedule!

How Aceable Works

Aceable lets you skip long lines at the DHSMV and take your learner's permit exam right on your phone! Past your test on your time so that you can move on to other awesome stuff!

1 | Complete Florida's Drug and Alcohol Course

The state of Florida requires you to take the Drug and Alcohol course if you’ve never had a regular driver license in any state or country, or if you’re under 21 years old and get your license suspended for DUI. If you haven't completed the course, we offer it online as well!

2 | Sign Up With Aceable

If you’re between ages 14 and 17, you can take the Florida learner’s permit exam online with Aceable, while those age 18 and older must take it at the DMV office.

3 | Get Your Florida Lerner's Permit

Once you've passed the test, head to the nearest Driver License Office with all required documents. Visit our help center if you don't know what you need. Pass the vision and hearing tests and pay the $48 licensing fee. Congrats on your new permit. Now go tackle those behind the wheel hours so you can earn your driver license!

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I take the Knowledge Exam with Aceable?

If you are 14-17 years old and want to take your written Knowledge Exam with Aceable – instead of taking it at the Driver License Office – you can purchase the exam separately through Aceable for $25.If you’re 18 years old or older, Florida requires that you take the written Knowledge Exam at the Driver License Office. You CANNOT take the written knowledge exam online with Aceable.Students who take the Knowledge Exam with Aceable will need to:

  • Answer 50 questions in 60 minutes
  • Score at least an 80% (40 out of 50 questions correct).
  • Pass all security questions.
Florida state law requires that you purchase the knowledge exam again if you fail the exam, fail a security question, or don’t complete the exam in 60 minutes.You have up to three chances to take the exam online. After that, the state of Florida requires that you take the exam at the Driver License Office in person.

What are the steps to Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE)?

  1. Take and complete Aceable’s four-hour Florida TLSAE course.
  2. Pass the Knowledge Test online with Aceable (only if you are 14-17 years old).
  3. Get your permit at the DMV.
  4. Complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice.
  5. Get your license at the DMV.
For more detailed step-by-step directions, check out our 5 Steps blog post.

What do I bring to the DMV to get my license?

Proof of Identification – Birth certificate (or a certified copy issued by state you were born in) or United States PassportProof of Social Security Number – Original social security card or your W-2 showing your SSNProof of Residential Address – Home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc. (Non-US Citizens must present proof of legal presence)Parental Consent Form (print this out here) – You’ll only need this form if you’re an unmarried teen under 18 years old. One parent or legal guardian must sign your license application. Stepparents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you. You must sign this at the DMV.A vehicle for the driving test – You have to be accompanied by a licensed driver if you don’t have a valid license. If you need an interpreter, you can bring one for the test, but there can be no other passengers in the car.Adults – $48 licensing fee (if you are a teen under 18 years old, you already paid this fee when you applied for your permit)Teens under 18 years old – your Florida permitFor a more personalized checklist, check our Florida DMV’s resource: GatherGoGet.com

What do I bring to the DMV to get my permit?

  • Proof of Identification – Birth certificate (or a certified copy issued by state you were born in) or United States Passport
  • Proof of Social Security Number – Original social security card or your W-2 showing your SSN
  • Proof of Residential Address – Home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc. (Non-US Citizens must present proof of legal presence)
  • Parental Consent Form (print this out here) – If you’re under 18 years old and are unmarried, one parent or legal guardian must sign your license application. Stepparents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you. You must sign this at the DMV.
  • Parent Proctoring of Online Driver License Testing by a Minor (print this out here) – You only need this form if you are 14-17 years old and took the Knowledge Exam online with Aceable (for an additional purchase).
  • $48 licensing fee (covers both the permit and the license)
For a more personalized checklist, check our Florida DMV’s resource: GatherGoGet.com

What happens if I fail an identity security question in the course?

You’ll be asked identity security questions at various points throughout the course. If you fail a question (which we doubt you will since these questions are all about you!), we must return you to the beginning of the level and you must start over from there. Unfortunately, it’s a state requirement that we can’t get around. On the bright side, our levels are super short and you’ll make it back to where you were in no time.

What happens if I fail the final exam?

After you complete Level 12 and the Level 12 Assessment, you’ll take the final course exam. The exam has 40 questions and you must score at least 80% or better (at least 32 out of 40 questions correct) in order to pass.If you fail the final exam, you can take it again. There is no limit on how many times you can take the final exam and you don’t have to pay again to take it more than once.

What’s the difference between Aceable’s TLSAE course final exam and the Knowledge Exam?

Passing the TLSAE course final exam allows Aceable to send your course completion information to the state of Florida and serves as proof that you successfully passed the four-hour TLSAE course.The Knowledge Exam, however, is not the final exam. This is an additional exam you need to take to get your Florida permit/license. If you are 14-17 years old, you can take the Knowledge Exam online with Aceable for an additional fee of $25. If you’re 18 years old or older, the state of Florida requires that you take the Knowledge Exam at your DMV office.

When can I get my license?

You can get your license when you meet all of the following requirements:

  • You’re at least 16 years old.
  • You’ve held your permit for at least 12 months without any convictions or until you’re 18 years old, whichever happens first.
  • You’ve completed the 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice (10 of which must be at night).

When can I get my permit?

You can get your permit if you meet all of the following requirements:

  • You are at least 15 years old.
  • You have completed the four-hour TLSAE course.
  • You have completed and passed the written Knowledge Exam online with Aceable OR you have completed and passed the Knowledge Exam at your local DMV.

Join More Than 200,000 Families Who Trust Aceable

FEATURED IN