TABLE OF CONTENTS
- INTRODUCTION TO TEXAS DEFENSIVE DRIVING
- STEPS TO TAKING DEFENSIVE DRIVING
- DEFENSIVE DRIVING LEVEL TESTS & COURSE FAILURE
- COURT NAME
- YOUR DEFENSIVE DRIVING CERTIFICATE AND DRIVING RECORD
- COURT DEADLINES AND EXTENSIONS
- DEFENSIVE DRIVING IDENTITY SECURITY QUESTIONS
- DEFENSIVE DRIVING STUDENT COURSE TOOLS
- TECHNICAL SUPPORT & TROUBLESHOOTING
INTRODUCTION TO TEXAS DEFENSIVE DRIVING
Welcome to Aceable’s Texas Defensive Driving course! Skip the boring classes and expensive state fees. Instead, take care of your traffic ticket by taking our course on your computer, tablet, or phone.
You can take this course if:
- You need to take a defensive driving/driver safety course to take care of a traffic citation.
- You need to take a defensive driving course for an insurance discount.
- You need to take a defensive driving course to meet a work or school requirement.
You should take this course because:
- Aceable is state-approved. Our certificates are accepted at any courthouse in Texas.
- Aceable is all about convenience. You can log into your account on our website or by downloading the free Aceable Defensive Driving app for iOS and Android devices. You can switch between devices anytime and anywhere you want.
- Aceable includes 6 hours of engaging and entertaining content written in an easy way for you to understand. Your course will include text, videos, pictures, memes, and pop-up questions galore! You won’t just be reading for 6 hours straight.
- Aceable will mail you a Certificate of Completion that you can present to your court, insurance company, work, or school.
- Aceable’s Customer Experience Heroes are available every day of the week to help answer your questions. You can reach us by phone, email, and live chat.
STEPS TO TAKING DEFENSIVE DRIVING
Step 1: Check Your Eligibility
In order to take defensive driving, you need to meet the following requirements:
- You have a valid license or permit.
- You haven’t taken defensive driving in the past 12 months.
- You don’t have a commercial driver license (CDL)
- You weren’t charged with any serious driving violations, such as:
- Reckless driving
- Overtaking a school bus loading or unloading
- Speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
- Failure to exchange information and render aid at the scene of an accident
- Violations in construction zones when workers are present
- Failure to maintain financial responsibility
If you are taking Aceable Defensive Driving for an insurance discount or to meet a work/school requirement, you don’t have to worry about any of the above. Instead, skip to this step.
Step 2: Request Permission from the Court
Head to head to the court in person or send your documents by email. The way you request defensive driving can differ from court to court. Most courts allow you to make a request in person and via mail. Some allow you to do this online or by phone, fax, or email. Make sure to read the information on the back of your ticket carefully so that you know how to proceed.
Every court, however, will require the following:
- A valid Texas driver license or permit
- Proof of financial responsibility (aka auto insurance)
- Money to pay the fine and court fees
- An application or notarized affidavit requesting to take a driver safety course (defensive driving)
Step 3: Take Aceable Defensive Driving
Once the court has given you permission to take defensive driving, purchase Aceable Defensive Driving and get started on the course. You can access your course on the website or on the Aceable Defensive Driving app, which looks like this:
Make sure you complete the course by the 90-day deadline assigned by your court!
Step 4: Get Your Texas Defensive Driving Certificate of Completion
When you finish the six-hour course (11 levels), we’ll mail you a Certificate of Completion. We’re required by the state to send out hard copy originals. Unfortunately, we can’t fax or email any copies, and students aren’t allowed to come into the Aceable office to pick up certificates.
If you are taking the course for ticket/traffic citation purposes, Aceable will mail you two certificates – one to present to the court and another to present to your insurance company.
To learn more about our certificate shipping options, click here.
Step 5: Present Your Documents to the Court
Once you’ve received your Aceable certificate, head to the court.
Every court requires you to submit these documents:
- An official state-certified Certificate of Completion- aka your Aceable Certificate
- An official state-certified driver record (Form 3A)– You can order this from Aceable at the end of your course, and we’ll mail it to you with your Certificate of Completion.
If you’re worried that the court will not accept late documents, call your court and ask them. Some courts offer a grace period to receive documents as long as you completed Aceable on or before the 90-day deadline set by your court. Most court websites don’t mention it, but it never hurts to call.
DEFENSIVE DRIVING LEVEL TESTS & COURSE FAILURE
There are 11 levels in the course. At the end of each level is a short, four-question level assessment (there is no final exam). You must score at least a 75% or better (at least 3 out 4 questions correct) in order to pass the assessment and go on to the next level.
If you don’t pass a level assessment, you can take it again (up to three times). If you don’t pass a level assessment on your third attempt, however, you’ve failed the course. Unfortunately, the state of Texas requires that in these situations you repurchase the course and start from the very beginning again.
In order to ensure that you pass your level assessments, you can always review the material in the levels and chapters you’ve already completed. We want to make sure you can pass your course!
If you’re taking Aceable Defensive Driving to dismiss a ticket, your Certificate of Completion needs to include the name of the court that gave you permission to take the course. If we don’t include a court name or if include an incorrect court name, your certificate could be turned away.
How to Select Your Court:
- Select “Ticket Dismissal” for your “Reason for taking the course”.
- Select the county that your court is located in. Use this link to figure out the county of your court by typing in your court’s address.
- Select the correct court name listed on your ticket.
If your court name is “Austin Municipal Court”, you would first select the ticket issued county, i.e. Travis County. Then, select the ticket issued court, i.e. Austin Municipal Court.
If your court name is “Harris County Justice Of the Peace – Precinct 3, Place 1”, you would first select the ticket issued county, i.e. Harris County. Then, select the ticket issued court, i.e. Harris County JP, Precinct 3 Place 1.
If you can’t find your court name in the options provided in the Student Profile, please contact us here and we’d be happy to help you out.
YOUR DEFENSIVE DRIVING CERTIFICATE AND DRIVING RECORD
Defensive Driving Certificate Shipping Options
Your Certificate of Completion will be mailed to you when you finish the six-hour course (12 levels). If you are taking the course for ticket/traffic citation purposes, Aceable will mail you two certificates – one to present to the court and another to present to your insurance company.
Unfortunately, we aren’t allowed to email or fax certificates, and students can’t come into the Aceable office to pick up certificates. We are required to mail out original hard copy certificates using a third-party delivery service, such as the US Postal Service, FedEx, or courier service.
Once you finish the course, here’s what you should expect:
- Your certificate will be mailed out on the same day you finish as long as you select your shipping preference by 1pm CST Monday through Friday or by 11am CST Saturday. If you place your order after those times, your certificate will be mailed out the following business day, excluding Sundays and national holidays observed by USPS and FedEx.
- On the day we mail out your certificate, you will receive an email from us by 5:30pm CST stating that your certificate has been mailed out. If you ordered expedited shipping, your tracking number will be included in that email.
- The day that we mail out your certificate is not considered the first business day. It is simply picked up by USPS or FedEx, scanned, and departs Austin. For example, if we mailed your certificate on Monday and you requested 2nd Day Shipping, your certificate will arrive by Wednesday.
IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR SAME DAY DELIVERY (AUSTIN ONLY):
Same day delivery orders must be placed by 11am CST Monday through Saturday. Your certificate will be hand-delivered at the location of your choice within Austin by 3:30pm CST.
The course comes with free standard shipping via the US Postal Service (USPS), and certificates sent out using this option should arrive within 5-12 business days. Certificates are sent out of our Austin, TX headquarters, so the closer you are to Austin the faster you’ll receive your certificate.
If you want to upgrade to an expedited shipping option, you can purchase that option on the web or app once you reach the very end of the course. Here are the prices:
|Standard Shipping||USPS||Within 5-12 business days||Free|
|3rd Day Shipping||USPS||Within 3 business days||$10|
|2nd Day Shipping||USPS||Within 2 business days||$35|
|Overnight (M-F)||FedEx||Next business day (Monday thru Friday) by 10:30am (most places), 5pm (remote places)||$45|
|Overnight (Saturdays)||FedEx||Saturday by 4:30pm (Friday orders only)||$55|
|Same-Day (Austin only, M-F)||Dropoff||Same day by 3:30pm (Monday thru Friday only)||$35|
|Same Day (Austin only, Saturday)||Dropoff||Same day by 3:30pm (Saturday only)||$55|
*Please note that the USPS and FedEx are closed on the following holidays, so we cannot ship the certificates on these days:
|Monday, January 2, 2017||New Year’s Day (observed)||Closed||Closed|
|Monday, January 16, 2017||Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday (observed)||Closed|
|Monday, February 20, 2017||President’s Day (observed)||Closed|
|Monday, May 29, 2017||Memorial Day||Closed||Closed|
|Tuesday, July 4, 2017||Independence Day||Closed||Closed|
|Monday, September 4, 2017||Labor Day||Closed||Closed|
|Monday, October 9, 2017||Columbus Day||Closed|
|Friday, November 10, 2017||Veteran’s Day (observed)||Closed|
|Thursday, November 23, 2017||Thanksgiving Day||Closed|
|Monday, December 25, 2017||Christmas Day||Closed||Closed|
|Monday, January 1, 2018||New Year’s Day||Closed||Closed|
Additional Defensive Driving Certificate Copies
Some courts require that you submit a driving record to them, in addition to your Defensive Driving Certificate of Completion. If you’re required to submit a driving record to your court, you can purchase one from Aceable at the very end of the course on the web or in the app. The driving record will cost $25.
If you’re having trouble purchasing the driving record, please contact us here.
The driving record will be mailed to you with your Certificate of Completion.
COURT DEADLINES AND EXTENSIONS
Meeting your court deadline is very important. If you can’t meet your deadline, however, you still have options!
If you’re worried that the court won’t accept late documents, simply call your court and ask them. Some courts offer a grace period to receive documents as long as you completed Aceable on or before the 90-day deadline set by your court. Most court websites don’t mention it, but it never hurts to call.
DEFENSIVE DRIVING IDENTITY SECURITY QUESTIONS
The state of Texas requires that Aceable verify the identity of students taking our Defensive Driving course. We want to be sure that the person who signed up for the course is the one actually taking it!
In order to do this, we use a system that asks you identity verification questions based on the information in your Aceable Student Profile.
You’ll be asked these identity security questions at various points throughout the course. If you fail three questions (which we doubt you will since these questions are all about you!), the state of Texas requires us to lock you out of your account. Unfortunately, this is a state requirement we have to follow.
However, you can contact us here and we’d be happy to unlock your account after we do some additional verification. We’ll work with you to make sure you can continue your course ASAP!
DEFENSIVE DRIVING STUDENT COURSE TOOLS
Aceable provides a variety of student course tools that you’ll find very helpful. These tools include the student profile, table of contents, and progress logs. You can learn about using these tools in our Account & Log In Help Knowledge Base here.
TECHNICAL SUPPORT & TROUBLESHOOTING
If you are experiencing technical issues with the web course or app, there are a variety of troubleshooting options available to you. For a detailed guide on troubleshooting your web course or app, check out Aceable’s Technical Support & Troubleshooting Knowledge Base here.