Teens in Ohio can now get a driver license faster than ever before with Aceable, the BMV approved Drivers Education program for mobile app and web. Conveniently take our online driving course from any device, anytime, anywhere. It’s Drivers Ed that fits your busy schedule! Aceable is the shortest Ohio Drivers Ed course allowed by law because we know you’re eager to start driving. Our self-paced course is available on the web or through iOS and Android, allowing you to finish Drivers Ed on the go. It couldn’t be simpler. Try Aceable for free and purchase the full course when ready. Let’s learn to drive.

Ohio BMV Approved & Certified

The only teen drivers ed app approved by the State of Ohio

We offer the easiest & most convenient way for teens to meet state requirements for drivers ed.

Trusted by Parents
Loved by Teens

Online drivers ed for Ohio teenagers

Parent monitoring and in-car teaching tools put parents in the driver’s seat.

Engaging Content
Designed for Teens

Aceable is available on any computer or mobile device

Interactive content helps keep teens engaged. No more boring classes.


Drive Awesome With Aceable’s Easy & Convenient iOS or Android App

This isn’t your typical boring Ohio driving school

iPhone frame

How to Get Your Ohio Drivers License in Five Easy Steps

Take the First Two Levels of Aceable’s Ohio Drivers Ed

Start Aceable’s Ohio Drivers Ed course and complete the first two levels, we’ll mail you a Certificate of Enrollment so that you can start on your behind-the-wheel hours after you obtain your permit.

Get Your Ohio Permit

Once you have completed the first two levels of Aceable drivers ed, and after you have turned 15 years and 6 months old, find the closest Driver Exam Station and pass the vision and written tests. Within 60 days of passing these exams, head to the Deputy Registrar License Agency, present your documents and purchase a TIPIC (Temporary Instructional Permit Identification Card).

Start Your Ohio Behind-the-Wheel Training

Enroll in a state-certified driving school and complete 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. Complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice (including 10 hours at night) with a parents or legal guardians. Your parent or guardian must fill out a Fifty Hour Affidavit and get it notarized.

Complete Aceable’s Ohio Drivers Ed

Complete the remaining 10 levels of your Aceable course. We’ll mail you a Certificate of Completion. You must present this to your driving school in to obtain your completed Driver Education Certificate.

Get Your Ohio License

You can get your Ohio license when you meet all of the following requirements:

  • You’re 16 years old or older
  • You’ve had your permit for at six months or longer
  • You’ve finished Aceable's Ohio course and received a Certificate of Completion
  • You’ve trained for eight hours with a state-certified driving school
  • You’ve finished 50 hours of driving (including 10 at night) with your parents or legal guardians.

Ohio Drivers Ed Made Simple

  • The only Ohio drivers ed course available in an iPhone, Android & web app. We teach wherever you learn best.
  • Complete the Ohio drivers ed final exam in Aceable’s app
  • Free in-app study tools to ensure you pass.
  • Parent monitoring tools to keep teens on track.
  • In-app tools for behind-the-wheel instruction.
  • Fulfill Ohio state drivers ed requirement.
  • 5-star course with awesome customer service.
You'll be taking your permit picture at the BMV in no time!

You’ll be taking your permit picture at the BMV in no time!


Teen Drivers in Ohio Love Aceable!

Pure Awesomeness!!!

5-star

“I love this!! So convenient and easy to use! The memes make it less boring, and I love that I can do it anywhere! So happy there is finally and app for drivers ed!”

Amazing app!

5-star

“This app is incredible! It’s cheaper, faster, and easier than actual driving school. The robot is hilarious and fun to learn with. My favorite part though is that we can do it freely on our own time anywhere!”

Highly Recommend

5-star

“It’s really convenient getting to do my class work on my phone, and I passed my permit test! I’m so glad I found Aceable, I recommend everyone to have this fun learning experience. The staff is super helpful, too.”

How to Get Your Ohio Drivers License

Step 1: Take the First Two Levels of Aceable’s Ohio Drivers Ed

The first step to getting your Ohio license is to start on Aceable’s Ohio Drivers Ed course. The course has 10 levels, totaling 24 hours of online classroom instruction. You can do up to four hours of classroom instruction per day. After you reach that four-hour limit, the state of Ohio requires that you are locked out of your account for 24 hours– then you can pick up from where you left off!

You have six months to complete the whole course. We’re sure you’ll breeze right through it since you won’t just be reading for 24 hours straight. Instead, Aceable mixes it up with text, videos, pictures, memes, and pop-up questions.

After you complete the first two levels (the first two hours of the course), we’ll mail you a Certificate of Enrollment so that you can start on your behind-the-wheel hours after getting your permit.

Step 2: Get Your Ohio Permit

You must be at least 15 and 6 months old to get your Ohio permit.

While you won’t need to present your Aceable Certificate of Enrollment to get your permit, you will need it to start your behind-the-wheel hours, so don’t forget to keep an eye out on your mailbox for this certificate from us!

You can head to your local Driver Exam Station and take the vision and written knowledge tests.

There’ll be 40 questions on the written knowledge test. The questions will focus on motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs, and you have to score at least 75% or better (at least 30 out of 40 questions correct) to pass. You can also review the material in your Aceable course to refresh your memory and study for the test.

If you fail the written knowledge test, you can retake it at least 24 hours later. There’s no limit on how many times you can take the written knowledge test.

Within 60 days of passing the vision and written knowledge tests, you must head to the Deputy Registrar License Agency to present your documents and purchase a TIPIC (Temporary Instructional Permit Identification Card), also simply known as a permit.

Step 3: Start Your Ohio Behind-the-Wheel Hours

Once you have your permit, enroll in a state-certified professional driving school. You’ll do 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction hours with them. Make sure you bring your Aceable Certificate of Enrollment and present it to them!

You also need to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice (10 of which must be at night) with your parents or legal guardians. You don’t need to log these 50 hours. Instead, your parent or guardian will simply fill out a Fifty Hour Affidavit and get it notarized. You’ll need to present the affidavit at the Driver Exam Station when you test for your license.

If you have a permit and are between the ages of 15 and a half and 16 years old, you’re only allowed to drive if you have a licensed parent or guardian with you in the passenger seat. However, your parent or guardian can get you an In Loco Parentis Affidavit, which allows a permit holder in this age range to drive with another specified licensed adult who is at least 21 years old or older.

If you have a permit and are at least 16 years old or older, you’re only allowed to drive if you have a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old or older with you in the passenger seat.

Step 4: Finish Aceable’s Ohio Drivers Ed

Complete the rest of your Aceable course (10 levels). When you’re done with Aceable, we’ll mail you a Certificate of Completion. You need to present this to your professional driving school in order to get your completed Driver Education Certificate. Don’t skip this step or you may be turned away when you test for your license!

Step 5: Get Your Ohio License

You can get your Ohio license if you meet all of the following requirements:

  • You’re at least 16 years old.
  • You’ve held your permit for at least six months.
  • You’ve finished your 24-hour Aceable course and received a Certificate of Completion from us.
  • You’ve completed 8 hours of training with a state-certified professional driving school.
  • You’ve completed 50 hours of driving (10 of which must be at night) with your parents or legal guardians.

You’ll need to schedule an appointment for your driving test by contacting a Driver Exam Station or calling the Ohio BMV at 614-752-7600. Please note that the BMV can book up very quickly, especially during high-volume seasons like the summer and during spring break. You should schedule your driving test as far in advance as possible.

If you fail the driving test, you’ll have to wait seven days before retaking. If you fail on the fourth time, however, you’ll need to wait six months until you’ll be allowed to take it again.

If you’re under 18 years old and have held your probationary license for less than 12 months:

    You cannot drive between midnight and 6am unless you’re accompanied by a parent or guardian.

    You cannot operate a vehicle with more than one non-family member as a passenger unless you’re accompanied by a parent or guardian.

If you’re under 18 years old and have held your probationary license for 12 months or longer you cannot drive between 1am and 5am unless you’re accompanied by a parent or guardian.

A conviction of a traffic offense within the first six months of having a license may result in a parent or guardian having to accompany you for six months or until you’re 17 years old. Multiple traffic convictions before your 18th birthday may result in a license suspension. For alcohol-related convictions, your license will be suspended for at least six months.

Ohio Drivers Ed Exams

Ohio Drivers Ed Level Assessments

There are 10 levels in the course. At the end of each level is a short level assessment consisting of 10 questions. The questions will be a mix of multiple-choice and true/false questions. You must score at least 70% or better (at least 7 out of 10 questions correct) in order to pass and go on to the next level.

If you fail a level assessment, you can take it again. There is no limit on how many times you can take a level assessment and you don’t have to pay again to take a level assessment more than once.

Ohio Drivers Ed Final Exam

At the very end of the course (10 levels) is the final exam. The exam consists of 50 questions. The questions will be a mix of multiple-choice and true/false questions. You must score at least 75% or better (at least 38 out of 50 questions correct) in order to pass and receive a Certificate of Completion from Aceable.

If you fail the final exam, you can take it again 24 hours later. You have three chances to pass the final exam. After failing the final exam three times, you’ll be locked out of the course. Contact us so that we can unlock your account. Unfortunately, the state of Ohio requires that you restart the course from the very beginning when this happens.

Passing this final exam proves to the state of Ohio that you passed your drivers ed course. You’ll still have to take and pass a written knowledge exam at the BMV to get your permit.


As featured in

As Featured In

Still Have Questions? Talk To A Real Person: 614-705-0800