Steps to Getting Your California Driver License

Ready to get your license? Here’s a handy guide!

Click here if you are 15.5 – 17.5 years old.

Click here if you are over 17.5 but younger than 18.

Click here if you are 18 years old and older.

If you are 15.5 – 17.5 years old:

1. Take Aceable’s Drivers Ed for CaliforniaComplete our state-approved 30 hour course on your iOS device, Android device, or the web. Aceable’s course has pictures, videos, memes, voiceovers, text, and pop-up questions – we like to mix it up and keep it interesting. We’ll mail you a Certificate of Completion of Driver Education once you’re done with the course.

2. Get your permitHead to the CA DMV to ace your traffic law and signs test and get your hands on that provisional permit! You’ll need to get at least 38 out of 46 questions correct, and you have three chances to pass the test. If you fail, you must wait seven days before taking the test again. But we’re positive you’ll pass – you did just take Aceable, you clever Acelet!

Make an appointment because the CA DMV doesn’t take walk-ins!You’ll need to bring:

  • An original and completed DL 44 (Driver License Application) with your parents’ or guardians’ signatures. You can get the DL 44 at your local DMV office or have it mailed to you by calling 1-800-777-0133.
  • Two (2) proofs of California residency (rental or lease agreement, deed or title to residential property, mortgage bill, utility bills, school documents, medical documents, employment documents, etc.). Click here for a full list of acceptable documents. The address on the residency documents must match the residency address on the DL-44 application. Photocopies are acceptable. Parents, legal guardians, or children can use a birth certificate and spouses or domestic partners can use a marriage license or domestic partner registration certificate to trace their relationship to the individual named in the two acceptable residency documents.
  • Your social security number (unlaminated original social security card).
  • An original or certified copy of a document verifying your birth date and legal presence (US birth certificate, US passport, permanent or temporary resident card, etc.). Click here for a list of acceptable documents.
  • $33 application fee. This fee is good for three exams within the 12-month period and pays for both your permit and driver license. If you don’t obtain your license within the 12-month period you must go through the application process again.
  • Certificate of Completion of Driver Education (we mail this to you when you complete your Aceable course)
You’ll also need to provide a fingerprint and signature, pass a vision exam, and take a picture. Say cheese!

Don’t have a social security number or proof of legal presence? You can apply for an AB 60 Driver License. Click here to learn more.

3. Complete your behind-the-wheel hoursTake your first two-hour lesson with a professional instructor, who will sign your permit.   You can then complete the 50 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction (10 of which must be done at night) with a parent, guardian, spouse, or adult who is 25 years old or older and has a valid California driver license.

You’ll also need to complete two more 2-hour lessons with a professional instructor (that’s six hours total of professional instruction). Don’t forget, you aren’t allowed to drive alone just yet, and you should always have your provisional permit with you.

4. Get your driver licenseWithin 6-12 months of getting your permit, after completing all of the behind-the-wheel driving instruction, and when you’re at least 16 years old, head to the CA DMV to finally ace the driving test and get your driver license!Make an appointment for your driving test because the CA DMV doesn’t take walk-ins!You’ll need to bring with you:

  • Your permit (with the second page signed by your parents verifying they’ve provided 50 hours of instruction, 10 of which are at night)
  • Completion of Behind-the-Wheel Training (DL 388) from your professional driving instructor.
  • Proof of financial responsibility, such as a liability insurance policy, surety bond number, or current copy of insurance policy that shows that your vehicle is properly insured. Click here for a  list of acceptable documents. Your driving test can be postponed if you don’t provide this document, so don’t forget it! You do want that license, don’t ya?
  • You and your aceable driving skills!

If you fail your driving test, you must wait two weeks before you can take it again. You have three chances to pass.

When you pass, the CA DMV will issue you an interim license that’s valid for 90 days. Your new photo driver license will arrive in the mail. Until then, always have your interim license with you when you drive.

5. Go drive. Freedom. Yipppie.Tag @aceable on Instagram and show off your new driver license. Come on, don’t be shy! What’s the first thing you’ll do with your new found freedom?

If you are over 17.5 but younger than 18:

Optional: Take Aceable’s Drivers Ed for CaliforniaIf you’re older than 17.5 but younger than 18, you aren’t required to present driver education and driver training certificates to get your permit. However, you’ll still be required to take the written permit test, and Aceable is a great way to study for this.  Let us help you ace the test on the first try!

1. Get your permitHead to the CA DMV to ace your traffic law and signs test and get your hands on that provisional permit! You’ll need to get at least 38 out of 46 questions correct, and you have three chances to pass the test. If you fail, you must wait seven days before taking the test again. But we’re positive you’ll pass – you did just take Aceable, you clever Acelet!

Make an appointment because the CA DMV doesn’t take walk-ins!

You’ll need to bring:

  • An original and completed DL 44 (Driver License Application) with your parents’ or guardians’ signatures. You can get the DL 44 at your local DMV office or have it mailed to you by calling 1-800-777-0133.
  • Your social security number (unlaminated original social security card).
  • An original or certified copy of a document verifying your birth date and legal presence (US birth certificate, US passport, permanent or temporary resident card, etc.). Click here for a list of acceptable documents.
  • Two (2) proofs of California residency (rental or lease agreement, deed or title to residential property, mortgage bill, utility bills, school documents, medical documents, employment documents, etc.). Click here for a full list of acceptable documents. The address on the residency documents must match the residency address on the DL-44 application. Photocopies are acceptable. Parents, legal guardians, or children can use a birth certificate and spouses or domestic partners can use a marriage license or domestic partner registration certificate to trace their relationship to the individual named in the two acceptable residency documents.
  • $33 application fee. This fee is good for three exams within the 12-month period and pays for both your permit and driver license. If you don’t obtain your license within the 12-month period you must go through the application process again.

You’ll also need to provide a fingerprint and signature, pass a vision exam, and take a picture. Say cheese!

Don’t have a social security number or proof of legal presence? You can apply for an AB 60 Driver License. Click here to learn more.

2. Practice drivingPractice driving with a parent, guardian, spouse, or adult who is 25 years old or older and has a valid California driver license.  Don’t forget, you aren’t allowed to drive alone just yet and you should always have your provisional permit with you.

3. Get your driver licenseYou’re eligible to take the driving test at the DMV once you turn 18.

Make an appointment for your driving test because the CA DMV doesn’t take walk-ins!

You’ll need to bring:

  • Your permit
  • Proof of financial responsibility, such as a liability insurance policy, surety bond number, or current copy of insurance policy that shows that your vehicle is properly insured. Click here for a list of acceptable documents. Your driving test can be postponed if you don’t provide this document, so don’t forget it! You do want that license, don’t ya?
  • You and your aceable driving skills!

If you fail your driving test, you must wait two weeks before you can take it again. You have three chances to pass.

When you pass, the CA DMV will issue you an interim license that’s valid for 90 days. Your new photo driver license will arrive in the mail. Until then, always have your interim license with you when you drive.

4. Go drive. Freedom. Yipppie.Tag @aceable on Instagram and show off your new driver license. Come on, don’t be shy! What’s the first thing you’ll do with your new found freedom?

If you are 18 years old and older:

Optional: Take Aceable’s Drivers Ed for CaliforniaIf you’re 18 years old or older, you aren’t required to present driver education and driver training certificates to get your permit. However, you’ll still be required to take the written permit test, and Aceable is a great way to study for this.  Let us help you ace the test on the first try!

1. Get your permitHead to the CA DMV to ace your traffic law and signs test and get your hands on that provisional permit! There are 36 questions on the test, and you have three chances to pass. If you fail, you must wait seven days before taking the test again. But we’re positive you’ll pass – you did just take Aceable, you clever Acelet!

Make an appointment because the CA DMV doesn’t take walk-ins!You’ll need to bring:

  • An original and completed DL 44 (Driver License Application). You can get the DL 44 at your local DMV office or have it mailed to you by calling 1-800-777-0133.
  • Your social security number (unlaminated original social security card).
  • An original or certified copy of a document verifying your birth date and legal presence (US birth certificate, US passport, permanent or temporary resident card, etc.). Click here for a list of acceptable documents.
  • Two (2) proofs of California residency (rental or lease agreement, deed or title to residential property, mortgage bill, utility bills, school documents, medical documents, employment documents, etc.). Click here for a full list of acceptable documents. The address on the residency documents must match the residency address on the DL-44 application. Photocopies are acceptable. Parents, legal guardians, or children can use a birth certificate and spouses or domestic partners can use a marriage license or domestic partner registration certificate to trace their relationship to the individual named in the two acceptable residency documents.
  • $33 application fee. This fee is good for three exams within the 12-month period and pays for both your permit and driver license. If you don’t obtain your license within the 12-month period you must go through the application process again.

You’ll also need to provide a fingerprint and signature, pass a vision exam, and take a picture. Say cheese!

Don’t have a social security number or proof of legal presence? You can apply for an AB 60 Driver License. Click here to learn more.

2. Practice drivingYou can practice with any adult who is 18 years old or older and has a valid California driver license.

3. Get your licenseWhen you’re ready, head to the CA DMV to finally ace the driving test and get your driver license!

Make an appointment for your driving test because the CA DMV doesn’t take walk-ins!

You’ll need to bring:

  • Your permit
  • Proof of financial responsibility, such as a liability insurance policy, surety bond number, or current copy of insurance policy that shows that your vehicle is properly insured. Click here for a list of acceptable documents. Your driving test can be postponed if you don’t provide this document, so don’t forget it! You do want that license, don’t ya?
  • You and your aceable driving skills!

If you fail your driving test, you can practice for a while and make another appointment when you’re ready to take it again. There is no waiting period required, but you must make an appointment. You have three chances to pass the driving test, and you must pay $6 for the second and third driving tests.

When you pass, the CA DMV will issue you an interim license that’s valid for 90 days. Your new photo driver license will arrive in the mail. Until then, always have your interim license with you when you drive.

4. Go drive. Freedom. Yipppie.Tag @aceable on Instagram and show off your new driver license. Come on, don’t be shy! What’s the first thing you’ll do with your new found freedom?