Getting a ticket can be stressful, especially if it is your first time. It can be confusing. Where do you go? Will you get points on your driver record? Is it going to cost you an arm and a leg?Breathe! Aceable is here to make the process easy for you. Follow the steps below and you (and the state) can forget that you ever got a ticket.
1. CHECK YOURSELF – ARE YOU ELIGIBLE?
Not everyone can take defensive driving to get rid of a ticket. Maybe you’re one of the lucky ones. In this case, taking defensive driving with us will get you out scot-free.In addition to the requirements listed in the infographic above, serious driving violations can keep you from being able to take defensive driving:
- Reckless driving
- Overtaking a school bus loading or unloading
- Speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit.
- Failure to exchange information and render aid at the scene of an accident
- Violations in construction zones when workers are present
- Failure to maintain financial responsibility
2. REQUEST PERMISSION FROM THE COURT TO TAKE DEFENSIVE DRIVING Your Honor, I’m sorry.
Yep, you’re going to need to head to the court in person or send your documents by email. The way you request defensive driving can differ from court to court. Most courts allow you to make a request in person and via mail. Some allow you to do this online or by phone, fax, or email. Make sure to read the information on the back of your ticket carefully so that you know how to proceed.Every court, however, will require the following:
- A valid Texas driver license or permit
- Proof of financial responsibility (fancy legalese for “auto insurance”)
- Money to pay the fine and court fees
- An application or notarized affidavit requesting to take a driver safety course (defensive driving)
3. TAKE ACEABLE
Once the court has given you permission to take defensive driving, head here and purchase Aceable Defensive Driving. Download the app, fly through the course, and graduate! Aceable is the only state-approved defensive driving app in the country. We’re the easiest and most convenient way to get your ticket dismissed.Make sure you complete the course by the 90-day deadline assigned by your court!
4. BRING YOUR DOCS TO THE COURT
You’ve finished defensive driving. Now what? Time to get your ducks in a row.Every court requires you to submit these documents:
- An official state-certified certificate of completion
- An official state-certified driver record (form 3A)
We provide both upon completion of the course!If you’re worried that the court will not accept late documents, call your court and ask them. Some courts offer a grace period to receive documents as long as you completed Aceable on or before the 90-day deadline set by your court. Most court websites don’t mention it, but it never hurts to call. Trust me, this is coming from my own personal experience.
Ticket dismissed. Alright, now that you’re free, try not to get pulled over by an officer again. But, if you do, at least you know that Aceable is the way to go. We care deeply about driver safety and that’s why we’ve put together a course designed to make better drivers out of all of us in Texas.From the Aceable community support team, Drive Awesome.