Got a speeding ticket in Austin or Travis County? Aceable has you covered.
MAKE SURE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE TO TAKE DEFENSIVE DRIVINGNot everyone can get their ticket dismissed with defensive driving. If you broke the law, but not by too much, you’re probably good to go.
- Possess a valid Texas driver’s license or permit
- Admit guilt to a traffic violation and wish to use defensive driving as an alternative
- Have not taken a course to dismiss a traffic ticket within the past 12 months
- Are not a commercial driver (CDL’s are not eligible for Texas defensive driving courses)
HOWEVER, YOU WON’T BE ABLE TO DISMISS YOUR TICKET IF YOU WERE CHARGED FOR:
- Reckless driving
- Overtaking a school bus loading or unloading
- Speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
- Failure to exchange information and render aid at the scene of an accident
- Violations in construction zones when workers are present
- Failure to maintain financial responsibility (car insurance)
HEAD TO THE COURTIf you aren’t sure which court to go to, check your traffic citation or ticket. If you were issued a ticket by the local Austin police, your case goes to the Austin Municipal Court. If Travis County officers or state troopers caught you, you’ll head to one of the Travis County Justice of the Peace Precincts.
After you have requested defensive driving, get started on dismissing your ticket with Aceable. It’s the easiest way to do it.