Texas Auto Insurance Requirements

You can’t register a motor vehicle in Texas (or legally drive it, for that matter), without first obtaining auto insurance. The state of Texas has a car insurance requirement in place so that all drivers can take financial responsibility for any damage they may cause during a crash. You make payments to an insurance company, which then pays for crash-related costs to the extent that your plan covers those costs.

There are many different types of auto insurance coverage offered by insurance companies, but the only kind required by Texas law is minimum liability insurance. This liability coverage is sometimes called a “30/60/25” plan. Your insurance provider will provide the following coverage:

  • $30,000 – bodily injury per person in a crash
  • $60,000 – maximum amount your policy will cover for the collision
  • $25,000 – maximum amount of property damage that will be covered

Find an insurance policy that fits your needs and budget. Some insurance companies may even give you discounts for stuff like taking driver education or having a good record. Make sure you maintain auto insurance, and keep your proof of insurance status with you at all times. Try keeping a copy of your insurance info card in your glovebox and another copy in your wallet. You’ll need to have it in case you’re involved in a crash, a police officer asks to see it, or if you’re registering a vehicle.