COVID-19 Update: Governor Brian Kemp has reinstated the on-the-road driving test requirement as of May 12, 2020. You will be required to take the driving test with the DDS prior to September 30, 2020 if you received your license between April 23 and May 12, 2020.

Georgia Drivers Ed Online

  • Georgia DDS-licensed LDT-691 teen course for earning a permit
  • Complete drivers ed requirements from your smartphone or computer
  • Fast, easy & convenient way to meet Joshua's Law requirements
  • Rated 4.9 out of 5 stars. Over 650,000 families choose Aceable
  • 1 free month of Allstate® Roadside Services (optional)*
Regular  $39 with Promotion  $29
25% OFF!
 Promo Ends:
00
Hours

Save 25% when you select 1 FREE month of Allstate Roadside Services.

20% of crashes happen while stuck on the side of the road according to the Federal Highway Administration. Make sure you're covered with Allstate Roadside Services®. Only $5/month after your free trial. Cancel anytime.
  • Flat tire service
  • Battery service
  • Towing
  • Fuel delivery
  • Lockout service
  • Full family coverage
Regular $39
with Promotion $29
1

Sign Up With Aceable

show less

Sign up for our DDS-approved online driver education course for students ages 15 and up. Aceable's course has pictures, videos, memes, text, and quizzes – we like to mix it up and keep it interesting.

2

Take the course

show less

Our Georgia drivers ed course is 30 hours of entertaining content. It's all self-paced so you can start and stop as you like. Plus, it never expires. We'll mail you a Certificate of Completion of Driver Education for free once you're done with the course. Join the other Aceable Georgia drivers who love our course.

3

Prep for the test

show less

Study for the DDS permit test with unlimited practice tests in-app. It's important that you prepare for the written exam before heading to the DDS. You'll need to get at least 21 out of 30 questions correct, and you have unlimited chances to pass the test. If you fail, you may retake the test again as many times as you need.

4

Ace your Georgia permit test

show less

Head to the DDS to ace your written test and get your permit! There is no need to make an appointment with your local DDS. However, you'll want to make sure you allow more than 30 minutes of time before the location closes for the day. You will be required to take two tests: the Road Rules Test and the Road Signs Test. Each test consists of 20 questions and it's required that you score a 75% or above. You'll also need to provide a fingerprint and signature, pass a vision exam, and take a picture. With your Georgia learner permit in hand, you're ready to start driving school.

5

Start behind-the-wheel training

show less

You may begin a six-hour course with a private traffic school to get some behind-the-wheel training. This is optional, however. The DDS provides a free Parent/Teen Driving Guide, which offers suggestions for in-car lessons. A licensed friend or relative is also a suitable teacher. All new drivers are required to complete 40 hours of this training, with 6 of those hours being at night.

6

Get your Georgia driver's license

show less

After one year and one day of getting your permit, and when you're at least 16 years old, head to the DDS to take the driving test and get your license! A Driving Experience Affidavit (DDS-7) must be completed to affirm that you have completed the required 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, which includes the 6 hours of nighttime driving. To schedule a road test appointment you must call ahead or register online. To save some time, you may also pre-apply online within 30 days of your appointment date If you fail your driving test, you must wait one day before you can take it again. If you fail a subsequent you must wait one week to retest. Your new photo driver license will arrive in the mail. Until then, always have your interim license with you when you drive. In the meantime, you can't transport any passengers that are not part of your immediate family; after six months you are permitted only one non-relative under 21, and after six more months, three non-relatives under 21. You also can't drive between 12am and 5am. After you turn 18, these restrictions don't apply.

1

Am I required to take professional driving lessons?

show less

No. Once you get your permit you may take an optional six-hour professional driving course. However, this is not a requirement. Georgia allows you to complete all of your behind-the-wheel training with a licensed parent, relative, or friend. The DDS provides a free Parent/Teen Driving Guide, which offers suggestions for in-car lessons. All new drivers are required to complete 40 hours of this training, with 6 of those hours being at night.

2

How do I complete the required behind-the-wheel driving hours?

show less

Once you get your permit you may take an optional six-hour professional driving course. However, this is not a requirement. Georgia allows you to complete all of your behind-the-wheel training with a licensed parent, relative, or friend. The DDS provides a free Parent/Teen Driving Guide, which offers suggestions for in-car lessons. All new drivers are required to complete 40 hours of this training, with 6 of those hours being at night. Before getting your license a Driving Experience Affidavit (DDS-7) must be completed to affirm that you have completed the required 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice.

3

I lost my certificate. Can I get another one?

show less

If you need another copy of your certificate, please contact us.

4

What are the steps to Georgia Drivers Ed?

show less

If you're 15 – 18 years old, here are the steps you need to take:

  1. Take Aceable's 30-hour Georgia Drivers Ed course and wait for your Certificate of Completion in the mail.
  2. Head to the DDS to take your vision and written tests.
  3. After passing these tests, you'll be given your permit. Complete your 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a licensed adult.
  4. Head to the DDS to take the driving test and get your license!
5

What do I bring to the DDS to get my license?

show less

If you're younger than 18 years old, you'll need to bring the following:

  • $10 (cash, check, money order, credit/debit)
  • Joshua's Law Requirements
    • Aceable Certificate — 16 year olds only
    • Optional: Certificate of Completion from the school where you completed six BTW hours, if they provided you with one — 16 year olds only
    • At the testing center, the parent/guardian will sign a verification that the student completed 40 hours of supervised driving (6 at night) — 16 and 17 year olds
    • No BTW logs required
  • Certificate of School Enrollment (DS-1) signed within the last 30 days
    • If not enrolled in school, must provide a high school diploma, GED, special diploma, certification of high school completion, or proof of enrollment in a GED program or a postsecondary school.
  • Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) Certificate
  • Secure ID documents – Most people will bring these four things:
    • An original document to prove WHO YOU ARE (i.e. Birth Certificate or Passport)
    • Your SOCIAL SECURITY CARD
    • 2 things to prove WHERE YOU LIVE(i.e. Bank Statement, gas, light or water bill)
  • If your NAME is not the same as your birth name, please bring a legal document with your name changed on it (i.e. marriage certificate, civil union certificate, or divorce decree)
  • Immigration documents, if applicable
  • If you're 18 years old or older, you'll need to bring the following:
    • Your permit
    • Proof of financial responsibility, such as a liability insurance policy, surety bond number, or current copy of insurance policy that shows that your vehicle is properly insured. Your driving test will be postponed if you don't provide this document.
6

What do I bring to the DDS to get my permit?

show less

If you're 15 – 17 years old, you'll need to bring:

  • $10 (cash, check, money order, credit/debit)
  • Certificate of School Enrollment (DS-1) signed within the last 30 days
    • If not enrolled in school, must provide a high school diploma, GED, special diploma, certification of high school completion, or proof of enrollment in a GED program or a postsecondary school.
  • Secure ID documents – Most people will bring these four things:
    • An original document to prove WHO YOU ARE (i.e. Birth Certificate or Passport)
    • Your SOCIAL SECURITY CARD
    • 2 things to prove WHERE YOU LIVE(i.e. Bank Statement, gas, light or water bill)
  • If your NAME is not the same as your birth name, please bring a legal document with your name changed on it (i.e. marriage certificate, civil union certificate, or divorce decree)
  • Immigration documents, if applicable
  • All documents must be in English
7

What happens if I fail a level assessment?

show less

At the end of each of the ten levels is a level assessment consisting of 10 questions. The questions will be a mix of multiple-choice and true/false questions. You must score at least 70% or better (at least 7 out of 10 questions correct) in order to pass and go on to the next level. If you fail a level assessment, you can take it again. There is no limit on how many times you can take a level assessment and you don't have to pay again to take a level assessment more than once.

8

What happens if I fail the final exam?

show less

There will be a final exam at the very end of the course. It will have 30 questions, and you must scores at least 70% or better (at least 21 out of 30 questions correct) in order to pass and receive a Certificate of Completion from Aceable. If you fail the final exam, you can take it again. There is no limit on how many times you can take the exam and you don't have to pay again to take it multiple times. Passing this final exam proves to the state of Georgia that you passed your drivers ed course. You'll still have to take and pass a written knowledge exam at the DDS to get your permit.

9

What tests do I take at the DDS to get my permit?

show less

You'll take the vision and knowledge tests at the DDS in order to get your permit.

10

When will I get my Certificate of Completion?

show less
  • We e-file certificates directly to the state of Georgia
    • Certificate is e-filed 45 minutes after completion of course.
  • We also provide electronic certificate to student via email and dashboard.