Online Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed

All New Course, Updated 2024!

  • Drive confidently with our Texas DPS-approved course
  • Earn your permit from your smartphone or computer
  • Over 2 million families trust Aceable to graduate safe drivers
Regular $115 Sale Price $75
Enroll Now

Wistia video poster

Parents – we’re here for you! Get Aceable’s support during teen drivers ed.

As Featured In

Hear From Our Texas Teen Drivers

Super easy and convenient to use. Very thorough and makes the permit/drivers license experience more tolerable through specific instructions and guidelines. Highly recommend


Sooo helpful! My experience with Aceable has been awesome, it's a fast easy and useful way to get your license. Aceable has taught me so much so quickly!

Kailee Daniel

How was my experience while using Aceable? My experience was great the website helps you understand how driving can be if you just obey the traffic laws and also how the state of Texas prefers you to drive and how to be safe on the road.


8 easy steps to Parent Taught Drivers Ed

Illustration of phone next to a credit card

1. Purchase your course

Choose our Parent Taught Drivers Ed course to save an average of $300-500 on instructor fees.

Two people in a car

2. Choose your instructor

Your instructor can be a parent, guardian, or other designated adult. Check the eligibility requirements.

A packet changing hands

3. Order the PTDE packet

Order your PTDE packet from the TDLR before you get started. Get it by mail or instantly via email.

Finish Level 1 Image

4. Finish Level 1

After finishing Level 1, you’ll take your permit test in your Aceable app. With Aceable you don’t have to take it at the DPS!

Get Your Permit

5. Get your permit

Take your certificate and other required items to the DPS to take a vision test and get your permit.

Course on phone screen

6. Complete classroom and driving hours

Finish the rest of your Aceable course and 44 hours of driving with your instructor.

Impact Driving Course on Computer Screen

7. Take the ITTD

Take the FREE 2-hour Impact Texas Teen Drivers course on the DPS website within 90 days of your driving test.

Illustration of an ID

8. Get your license!

Once you’ve held your permit for 6 months, take your certificate and other required items to the DPS to take your driving test.

Aceable's Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed Course

TDLR Course & Drivers Permit Test

Save time. Take your state-approved drivers ed course and the Department of Public Safety written exam online or in-app. When you pass, we begin to process your completion certificate immediately! No need to take the written test at the DPS office.

Teen Drivers Ed Online

Enroll in our parent taught drivers ed online course and learn with memes, game-like quizzes and video on your phone or computer. Start our self-paced Texas parent taught drivers ed that's fast, easy, and never expires.

From The Comfort of Your Home

Do everything yourself with driver progress reports and parent tools. Need help? Questions about getting your learner's permit or license? Ask our customer-happiness team any day of the week to help you with our parent-taught driving course in Texas.

The Best Way to Earn Your Permit

Engaging Learning Activities

Research shows that the more engaging the course content the more likely a teen will retain it. That’s why our course provides a diverse range of interactive learning activities, including matching games, clickable image questions, fill-in-the-blank exercises, ordered lists, and more.

Efficient Vertical Scrolling

Modernized Animations and Imagery

Texas-Centric Content

Ace, A Student’s Best Friend

Save 35% when you select 1 FREE month of Allstate Roadside Services.

20% of crashes happen while stuck on the side of the road according to the Federal Highway Administration. Make sure you're covered with Allstate Roadside Services®. Only $5/month after your free trial. Cancel anytime.

  • Flat tire service
  • Battery service
  • Towing
  • Fuel delivery
  • Lockout service
Enroll Now

Sale Price


Step 1 | Sign up for a state-approved PTDE course.

Purchase our state-accredited Texas parent taught driver education course for students ages 14-17.

Want to learn more about parent taught drivers education in Texas? Check out our detailed Step-by-Step Guide to help answer all of your questions.

Not ready to commit? Start for free and buy when ready.

Step 2 | Choose a driving instructor.

Step 3 | Order your Parent Taught Drivers Ed packet.

Step 4 | Complete Level 1 of the Texas PTDE course and Ace your written test.

Step 5 | Get your learners permit at the Texas DPS.

Step 6 | Complete the remainder of the course and the behind-the-wheel training requirement.

Step 7 | Complete the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) Program.

Step 8 | Pass the driving test to get your provisional drivers license.

More Resources

Parent-Taught Driver’s Ed (PTDE) can be a daunting process. That’s why we created a comprehensive guide to walk you through it. Here are just a few of the resources we’ve created for parents, including tips on giving gentle feedback, conversations to have with your teen, and more.

Teen driving a car down a long road


A Step-By-Step Guide to Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed

Trying to figure out how PTDE works? Got a million tabs open? Close those tabs and download our PTDE guide! You’ll find everything you need for every step of the PTDE journey, like a driving skills cheat sheet and parent lesson plan, all in one place.

A mom writing down notes


Parent Lesson Plan

Don’t need the whole guide but feeling daunted by the 44 hours of behind-the-wheel time? Download just our driving lesson plan, where you’ll find a breakdown of all the skills your teen needs to master in a simple checklist format.

Need to ask mom or dad?

We can send Mom and Dad all the info they need for you to get started with Aceable! Enter your name and email, and a parent’s email, and we’ll shoot them a message with more details.

More than 2 Million Families Trust Aceable

YouTube video poster