Ready to start driving? Teens can now get their Texas driver license faster than ever before with the online parent Taught drivers education course by Aceable. Skip the classroom and take Texas Drivers Ed at your pace via mobile app or on the web. Getting your Texas learner permit and license has never been easier! Is this state-legal? Absolutely. Aceable is a Texas DPS approved drivers ed app and the shortest online driver training course allowed by law. Start Aceable for free and unlock the full course when you’re ready. Let’s hit the road!
Texas DPS Approved & Certified
We’re the easy and convenient way for teens to meet state requirements for drivers ed.
Great For Parents & Teens
Parents can manage in-car teaching with online driving tools.
Keeps Teens Engaged
Interactive content helps keep teens engaged. No more boring classes.
Drive Awesome with Aceable’s Easy & Affordable App
This Isn’t Your Typical Boring Texas Driving School
How Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed Works in Four Simple Steps
- Make sure you order your TDLR approved PTDE packet before you get started!
- Start Aceable Drivers Ed and get your Texas permit in just six hours. When you’re ready, take the official DPS permit test online or in our app. After you ace the exam, head to the Texas DPS to pick up your learner permit. Could it be simpler?
- Now that you have your driving permit, you can finish the online course with Aceable and complete drivers training simultaneously. In Texas, taking Parent Taught Drivers Ed means you’ll complete 44 hours of driving lessons with mom or dad before you can get your license.
- After you’ve finished the online driver education and behind the wheel instruction requirements, it’s time to schedule a driving exam at the closest DPS. With all the knowledge you’ve gained from Aceable, you’re sure to ace it. A Texas drivers license is now yours!
Here are a few teens that got their Texas permits with Aceable Drivers Ed!
Drivers Ed Made Simple
Take the actual DPS written permit test in the Aceable app!
The only course available in an iPhone app, Android app, and Online. We teach wherever you learn best.
Free in-app study tools to ensure you pass.
Parent monitoring tools to keep you on track.
In-app tools for behind-the-wheel instruction.
Fulfill the DPS drivers ed requirement.
5-star course with awesome customer service.
Parents & Teens in Texas Love Aceable!
Absolutely love the convenience!
“I’m so happy that I chose this app to teach my 16 year old…We went to a Jack White concert last night at a venue that is an hour away. She was able to do a chapter in the car on the way to the concert and while returning home today.”
“As a 15 year old, I was a tad intimidated by drivers ed…but Aceable made it one of the easiest things to do. And on top of that, the staff is SO nice! Aceable has done an awesome job! (Guess you could say they…aced…the app!)”
“I have two daughters using this app and they are breezing through it. I can check their progress and see exactly what they are working on…Customer support is phenomenal! I highly recommend this app for teens and their parent!”
The Affordable way to earn your Texas permit
Steps to Getting Your License Using PTDE
Step 1: Order Your Parent Taught Drivers Ed (PTDE) Packet
The first step of the process is ordering the Parent Taught Drivers Ed (PTDE) Packet from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). The PTDE packet contains forms that you’ll fill out and submit to your local DPS office when you get your permit and license. You won’t be able to get your permit or license without these forms, so it’s important to order your packet before or as soon as you start your Aceable Parent Taught Drivers Ed course.
If you have questions about obtaining your PTDE packet, you can reach the TDLR at: 800-803-9202
Step 2: Start Aceable Parent Taught Drivers Ed and Finish Level 1
In order to get your permit, you’ll need to complete Level 1 (the first six hours of the course) and the Written Knowledge Test at the end of Level 1. This means that you won’t need to take the Written Knowledge Test at the DPS! The test will consist of 30 multiple-choice questions. You’ll have one hour to complete the test and you must score at least 70% or better (at least 21 out of 30 questions correct) in order to pass.
Step 3: Get Your Parent Taught Permit
After you pass Level 1 and the Written Knowledge Test, Aceable will email you a DE-964 Permit Certificate within 1-3 business days. You’ll take this certificate and other documents to the DPS, where you’ll do your vision exam and get your permit. Remember, you must be at least 15 years old to get your Texas permit.
Once you have your permit, you can start working on your behind-the-wheel instruction and practice hours. The six-month permit period starts on the day that you receive your permit at the DPS. When you have your permit, you are only allowed to drive if there is a licensed adult 21 years old or older with you in the car. There are no restrictions on what hours you may drive during the day or night, but you must be accompanied by a parent or guardian during the late hours of the night.
Step 4: Complete Your Parent Taught Drivers Ed and Behind-the-Wheel Hours
Once you have your permit, you’ll need to finish up the rest of your Parent Taught course (Levels 2-12). Aceable will email you a DE-964 Certificate of Completion within 1-3 business days of your course completion and you’ll present this certificate to the DPS when you test for your license.
You’ll also need to complete 44 hours of state-required behind-the-wheel instruction and practice. You must also do 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice with any licensed adult 21 years old or older (10 of these hours must be done at night). You’ll list these hours in the Behind-the-Wheel Practice Log of the PTDE packet.
Step 5: Complete the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) Course
The Impact Texas Teen Drivers program (ITTD) is a free, two-hour video course provided online by the Texas DPS. Any student who has taken Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed or Instructor Taught Drivers Ed and has received a Certificate of Completion from Aceable is required to complete ITTD no more than 90 days before their driving exam. ITTD is not optional.
ITTD is made up of eight 15-minute videos, totaling two hours. You can choose to watch all eight modules at one time or watch the modules separately at different times.
When you complete ITTD, the DPS will email you a certificate. You must print out this certificate and present it at the DPS when you take your driving exam. If you are unable to receive your ITTD certificate through email, you can log into your ITTD account and access it there.
While there is no expiration date on the ITTD certificate, you must take ITTD no more than 90 days before your driving exam. Therefore, if you don’t pass your driving exam within 90 days of the date on your ITTD certificate, you must take ITTD again and get a new ITTD certificate.
Step 6: Get Your Parent Taught License
You can get your Texas license if you meet all of the following requirements:
- You have held your permit for at least six months.
- You are at least 16 years old.
- You have completed all 12 levels of Aceable and have received a Certificate of Completion from us.
- You have completed 44 hours of behind-the wheel instruction and practice.
If you meet all of these requirements, you can schedule a driving exam at your local DPS. When you go to the DPS for your driving exam, don’t forget to bring all your paperwork and documents with you.