So you want to get your Nevada driver's license in Reno, Nevada. If you've looked at the requirements on the DMV website, chances are you're confused. Fortunately, this guide breaks down everything you need to know to hit the road legally and safely.
Applying for a Nevada Instruction Permit
The first thing you need to do (once you're 15 1/2 or older) is apply for an instruction permit. You can do this at the Reno DMV office located at 9155 Double Diamond Parkway. To avoid long lines, be sure to make an appointment online.
There, you will have to pay a $22.25 licensing fee and a $25 testing fee. Those are the only charges you'll have to pay to the DMV before getting your teen driver's license.
But that's not all. When you go to the DMV office, take these documents with you:
One proof of identity
This could be a birth certificate, a valid U.S. passport, among others.
Your Social Security number
You could show a pay stub, a W-2 form, or your Social Security card.
Proof of your Nevada residency
This includes school enrollment forms, bank statements, bills, or Form DMV-005, signed by your legal guardian.
Form DP-38 Minor Affidavit & Information Sheet
It must be signed by your legal guardian.
Form DMV-002 Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card
Your legal guardian has to go with you to the DMV and sign this form there.
Form DMV-301 Certification of Attendance
This document must be filled out and signed by your school's administrator.
If you've been truant in the past, you need a new version of this form.
Home-schooled high schoolers can show a Notice of Intent to Homeschool instead.
Acing a Written Knowledge Test
Once you turn in all those documents, you will have to take a written knowledge exam. It will test how well you understand Reno driving laws, highway signs and signals, and safe driving practices. You must score at least 80% to pass. If you don't, you'll have to retake the test and pay a $10 fee — and wait longer to get your permit.
Taking Driver's Ed Classes in Reno, Nevada
Of course, you could cram the Nevada Driver's Handbook to prepare for the test. You could even ace it on your first try. But you won't be able to get your full Reno driver's license unless you take driver's ed.
In Nevada, you must complete 30 hours of classes. You can either attend an in-person school or an online one. The choice is yours: learning in a stuffy classroom following a rigorous schedule, or from wherever you want whenever you want?
If the online route sounds better for you, Aceable may be the right choice for you. With a flexible schedule, engaging lessons, and mock tests to help you gauge your progress, Aceable's Nevada driver's ed courses are DMV-approved.
Getting Driving Experience on Reno Roads
When you've got your instruction permit in hand, you can hit the road. In Reno, Nevada, you need 50 hours of practical driving experience before getting your full license. Keep in mind that 10 of those hours have to be at night — after sunset and before sunrise.
Any experienced driver who has had their license for over a year and is 21 or older can help you. Have them sit next to you and show you how it's done. Remember to keep a driver experience log — or else you won't get your full license.
Passing a Driving Skills Test
Once you have enough experience, it's time to take a driving skills test. Because you're in Reno, you should call this number to book a date and time for your exam: (705) 684-4368. You can also schedule your test online.
Collecting Your Full Nevada Driver's License
You can collect your full Nevada driver's license in Reno if:
You're at least 16 years old
You've held a permit for six months or more
You've completed the Aceable 30-hour driver's ed course
You have driven for at least 50 hours (and 10 hours in the dark)
You don't have any alcohol or drug convictions from the past six months
You haven't been involved in an at-fault crash over the past six months
Kick Off the Process Today Fully Online
Although there are quite a few steps and things to do, the process isn't so hard, is it? Signing up for Aceable's driver's ed course is the easiest step — it only takes a few minutes. The sooner you start, the sooner you'll get your license.