15% OFF OR MORE WITH OFFER!

SALE ENDS IN

00 HRS
00 Min
00 SEC

Florida Driving School

  • CONVENIENTComplete your Florida driving school courses on your schedule, from any device.
  • FASTOur efficient coursework quickly teaches you how to drive safely.
  • FUNBecause we all know memes are more memorable than boring text.
  • LEGITOur courses are approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

Choose your Florida Driving School Course

Regular $48.00 with Promo $36.00
Start
  • Complete your Florida Drug and Alcohol Course online, anytime from anywhere
  • Take your Florida permit test online and skip this step at the DHSMV
  • Our courses and tests are fully approved by the Florida DHSMV
Learn More
Regular $25.00 with Promo $19.00*
Start
  • Approved to dismiss a traffic ticket in Miami-Dade County
  • Quick, convenient, and easy coursework can be completed in as little as four hours
  • We’ll file your course completion info with the DHSMV and send you a copy to provide to your local court.
Learn More

Everything You Need to Know About Florida Driving School

FAQ

What is required for Florida Driver’s Ed?

Many states require driving students to sit through dozens of hours of driver’s ed coursework before getting a learner’s permit. But not Florida! Florida’s required driver’s ed program for students aged 14½ through 17 consists of a single Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, commonly called the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course. Once you pass that course, you just need to pass a written knowledge exam, and you’re ready for your Florida learner’s permit!

How long does the Florida Drug and Alcohol course take to complete?

With Aceable, you can finish the course in just four hours! Some Florida driving schools require a full semester course, but Aceable knows you’re busy, and we want you to get on the road quickly as well as safely.

Where can I take the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course?

With Aceable, you can take your Florida Drug and Alcohol Course online from anywhere. Whether you’re in Jacksonville, Orlando, Miami, or anywhere in between, all you need is a device with an internet connection! Use your smartphone, tablet, or computer to take your course from home, school, or wherever you find yourself with some downtime.

What happens if I fail a level assessment or final exam in my driver’s ed course?

No problem! With Aceable, you can retake your level assessments and final exam as many times as you need. Keep taking them until you pass; we won’t even charge you a fee for retakes!

Can I take my written knowledge exam online instead of at the DHSMV?

Only if you’re under 18. Florida law requires driving students 18 and older to take their written exam in person at a DHSMV branch.

When can I get my permit?

In Florida, you can get your permit as young as 15 years old. You just need to complete your TLSAE course and pass your written knowledge exam. Then you can head to your local DHSMV branch to get your Florida learner’s permit.

When can I get my license?

You must be at least 16 to get your Florida driver’s license. When you turn 16, you qualify to get your license as soon as:

  • You've had your permit for at least 12 months without any convictions (or you turn 18, whichever happens first),
  • And you complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice (10 of which must be driven after dark).
Can Florida require me to re-test?

If you take your written knowledge test online instead of in-person at the DHSMV, Florida can require a mandatory re-test without notice (according to Statute 322.56(3)(b) and (e)). Mandatory re-tests are done at random. For anyone randomly selected for a re-test, the DHSMV will issue the Florida driver’s license after the re-test is passed in a driver’s license or tax collector office. A failed re-test will require a re-exam fee to be paid before the next test attempt.

HOW TO GET YOUR FLORIDA DRIVER’S LICENSE

Step 1: Sign up for Aceable’s Florida driver’s ed course.

Our online Florida driver’s ed course (aka the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, aka the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course) is fully approved by the Florida DHSMV, so you know it’s legit.

Step 2: Take the course

We want to get you in, out, and on the road safely, so instead of taking a full semester to complete your course, you can pass our course in as little as four hours. Work at your own pace, around your busy schedule, from anywhere. You’ll get level assessments along the way to make sure you understand the material, and you’ll finish with a course exam. Because Aceable offers unlimited retakes, there’s no pressure during your assessments and exams!

Step 3: Take your Florida learner’s permit test

If you’re under 18, you have the option to take your Florida learner’s permit test online. You can take it conveniently from anywhere in the Aceable app. And if you don’t pass on your first try, no problem; retake it until you pass. For anyone 18 and over, you’ll need to take your test at your local DHSMV branch. Whether you’re in a major metro like Tampa, a smaller city like Destin, or a suburb like Hialeah, you’ll be able to find a branch near you.

Step 4: Get your Florida learner’s permit

When you pass your learner’s permit test, you’re able to get your learner’s permit from the DHSMV. If you take your permit test online with Aceable, we will submit your information directly to the DHSMV to minimize your paperwork. You’ll simply get an email once the DHSMV is ready to give you your permit, then you can go pick it up.

Step 5: Start behind-the-wheel training

You need lots of practice with an experienced driver to make sure you’re able to drive safely on your own. Florida requires 50 hours of driving practice with a licensed driver over 21 years old. Start with daytime driving to get the hang of it, then include 10 hours of nighttime driving toward the end of your training to meet the Florida practice requirement.

Step 6: Get your Florida driver’s license

All you have to do now is show the DHSMV that you’re ready to be a safe driver. You’ll need to pass a behind-the-wheel skill test, and then you can get your Florida driver’s license. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself for your skill test. Lots of people need more than one try to pass. And you can retake the test by paying a $20 retest fee

Aceable Is Here For All Things Driving In Florida

It doesn’t matter if you are a teenager in Orlando getting your license for the first time, or an adult that needs to dismiss the traffic ticket you just got in Tampa, Aceable can help you with any questions you may have about driving.

Is There a Limit on How Many Times I Can Take the Driver Improvement Course?

Is There a Difference Between Florida Drivers Ed and the 4-Hour Drug and Alcohol Course?

5 Steps to Getting Your Driver's License in Tampa, Florida.

Where Do I Go to Get a Driver’s License in Jacksonville, Florida?

What are the Steps to Get a Driver’s License in Orlando, Florida?