Looking to get your first driver's license in Florida? Whether you're a teenager eligible for a learner's permit or an adult getting your license for the first time, there are a few steps you are going to have to take. Read on to learn all you need to know about getting behind the wheel in the Sunshine State!
How to Get a Florida Driver's License: Step-By-Step
To start the process of getting a Florida driver's license, you have to be at least 14 1/2 years old. Once you've reached that milestone, here's what you need to do.
Step 1: Take the Drugs Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA) Course (aka TLSAE)
Anyone who is getting their first driver's license in Florida will have to complete the DATA course, which is also known as Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE). It will teach you about the state laws, your responsibilities, safe driving techniques, and how drugs and alcohol affect your driving. You can take this as soon as you are 14 1/2 years old.
Step 2: Pass the Florida Permit Test
After you complete the DATA course and are at least 15 years old, you can take your permit test. While you can take this test by visiting the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), you can also conveniently take it online if you are 15 to 17 years old. If you're 18 or older, you'll need to take it in-person at the DMV. To pass, you'll need to get 40 out of 50 questions correct.
After you pass the permit test, the next step depends on your age.
Step 3a: Get Your Permit (for Drivers 15 to 17 Years Old)
Once you've completed the DATA course and passed the permit test, the DMV will automatically receive notice statewide. You can then have someone take you to the DMV to get your learner's permit. With your permit, you can drive but must always have a licensed driver over 21 in the seat closest to you. Additionally, you can only drive during the day for the first three months.
To get your license, you'll need to drive with your permit for 12 months and complete 50 hours of driving (10 at night). However, if you turn 18 before the 12 months is up, you can take the road test to get your Class E license on or after your birthday.
Step 3b: Get Your Permit or License (for Drivers 18 and Older)
If you are 18 or older, completed the DATA course, and passed the permit test, you can get a learner's permit to practice driving or you can skip that step. To immediately get yourClass E driver's license, you'll need to take and pass the road test.
Get Started with Your Florida Driver's License
Are you ready to get behind the wheel in Florida?
Now you know the basic steps you need to follow. For those who are starting at the age of 14 1/2 to 15, you can have your license by the time you turn 16. As for those who are 18 or older, you could have your license within days. But where do you start?
Aceable is here to make it easy for you. We can help all drivers 14 1/2 and older take the DATA course online at a discounted price. Plus, if you are 15 to 17, we can also help you take your permit test online while saving a few bucks.
Get started with Aceable today!