How to Get Your Driver's License in Tampa, Florida

Interested in getting a Florida driver's license? You've come to the right place. Hitting the road in the Sunshine State for the first time is exciting, but there are some things you need to know. This guide goes over the basics of how to get your driver's license in Tampa, Florida.

5 Steps to Getting a Driver's License in Tampa

If you're under 18 and want to drive in Tampa, the first step is to get a learner's permit. You'll be allowed to drive while supervised by an older driver. Then, once you have some experience under your belt, you may apply for your full driver's license. It will give you more freedom. Here's what you need to do.

1. Sign Up for a Drug and Alcohol Course

First, you need to sign up for Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE). It's a four-hour mandatory course you can't get out of. If you want to get a permit or a license, you need to complete it and pass the final exam.

You can skip the dusty, busy classrooms and take the course fully online with Aceable. It's entirely self-paced, meaning you can take the 12 short modules whenever and wherever you want. Once you complete it, Aceable will notify the DMV right away.

2. Pass a Knowledge Test with Flying Colors

Then, you should study the Florida Driver License Handbook. It will teach you all the traffic laws and signs you'll come across in the real world. Study up — you'll need to ace a knowledge test! The exam has 50 multiple-choice questions. You must score 80% or higher.

If you're between the ages of 15 and 17, you may take the test online with Aceable. That means you could sit the exam from the comforts of your home, making you more relaxed and sharpening your mind.

Unfortunately, if you're 18 or older, you'll need to head to your local Tampa DMV to take the test.

3. Pass Hearing and Vision Tests 

You will also need to pass hearing and vision tests, regardless of your age.

Now, after completing these first three steps, you're ready to get your learner's permit. Yay! Further down in this guide we show you where to go and what documents to take with you.

4. Get 50 Hours of Driving Experience

But first, let's talk about driving experience. You'll need to get 50 hours behind the wheel once you have your learner's permit. 10 of those hours have to be in darkness — that is, after sunset and before sundown.

You'll have to be accompanied by a driver who is at least 21 years old. It's helpful to keep a log of all your driving sessions. This way, you can keep track of your progress.

5. Ace a Florida Road Skills Test

Ready for the big test? Once you have at least 50 hours of driving experience under your belt, you can book your road test. Call 813-635-5200 to choose a time and date that works for you, or book an appointment online. Then, head over to one of the two Tampa driver's license road testing centers for your exam:

  • East Tampa DMV, at 2814 E. Hillsborough Ave.

  • Brandon DMV at 3030 N. Falkenburg Rd

Where Can I Apply for a Permit or Driver's License?

In addition to the two above Tampa DMVs that offer road tests, you can apply for learner's permits and driver's licenses at one of these Tampa DMV offices:

  • 3011 University Center Drive, Suite #150 

  • 601 E. Kennedy Blvd. - 14th Floor (County Center)

  • 4100 W. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.

What Documents Do I Need?

To get a learner's permit (also known as a teen driver's license), you will need:

  • Proof of identity

  • Proof of Social Security number

  • Proof of residential address

  • Parental consent form (signed by your guardian at the DMV)

  • Parent online proctoring form (only if you took the Aceable online knowledge test)

Applying for a Tampa driver's license is also very straightforward. You'll need the same documents you showed before. But first, you must meet these requirements:

  • Be at least 16 years old.

  • Have passed the TLSAE, written test, and driving exam.

  • Have had a permit for 12 months or longer OR be 18 years old, whatever happens first.

  • Not have had any traffic violations in the past 12 months.

    • If you have gotten a ticket while driving with a permit, a driver improvement course could waive it. Thus, thanks to Aceable, you could get your driver's license sooner.

Get on the Road Quickly and Safely with Aceable

Aceable lets you skip over some of the hurdles to getting your full Florida driver's license. Since you can take classes and tests online, you can get your license as quickly or as slowly as you want. Aceable works with your lifestyle and schedule. Plus, you can start today when you buy the state-approved TLSAE course.

Skip The Classroom and Take Your Drivers Ed Course Online with Aceable!

Find Your Course Now