It’s finally here — the day you’ve been waiting for! You’re ready to get your Florida learner’s permit or your driver’s license. But before you head over to the driver’s license and motor vehicle service center and wait in line, you’ll want to make sure you’re fully prepared.
Here’s a closer look at the requirements to obtain a learner’s license or driver’s license in Florida.
Obtaining a Florida Learner’s License
Applying for a Florida Learner’s License is the first step toward getting your driver’s license. To begin the process, you must be at least 15 years old and complete the following steps:
Obtain a signed and notarized Parental Consent Form.
Take an approved four-hour Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course and obtain proof of completion.
Fill out a Parent/Guardian Online Test Proctoring Form and have it signed at the DMV by your parents if you took your TLSAE course online.
Pass a vision and hearing test, which is held at driver's license and motor vehicle service centersthroughout the state.
Study the Official Florida Driver’s License Handbook and pass the Official Florida Permit Test. This exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions covering both traffic laws and traffic signs. You must score at least 80% (40 out of 50 questions correct) to pass.
Provide specific required documents to prove your identity. These can include:
U.S. birth certificate
U.S. passport or passport card
Consular Report of Birth Abroad
Certificate of Naturalization
Certificate of Citizenship
Provide specific required documents to prove your Social Security number. These can include:
Social Security card
Provide specific required documents to prove your residential address. These can include:
Deed or mortgage statement
W-2 or 1099 form
Report card or educational transcripts
Statements from government agencies
Note that you’ll need to visit the driver’s license office in person and provide original documents.
Obtaining a Florida Intermediate Driver’s License (Teens 16-17)
You must be at least 16 years old to apply for a Florida Driver’s license. In addition, you must have had your learner’s license for at least 12 months or until you turn 18 (whichever comes first) and have at least 50 hours of driving, with 10 of the hours being at night.
To obtain your license, here's what you'll need to bring to the DMV:
A Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form completed by a parent, legal guardian, or responsible adult over the age of 21.
Proof of passing your Class E Driving Skills Test.
Provide specific required documents to prove your identity (listed above).
Provide specific required documents to prove your Social Security number (listed above).
Provide specific required documents to prove your residential address (listed above).
Obtaining a Florida Driver’s License (Adults 18+)
Adults over the age of 18 do not need to go through the process of getting a learner’s license, even if they are getting a driver’s license for the first time. However, you will still have to take an approved TLSAE course and pass a written exam as well as vision and hearing tests.
You’ll also need to provide the same required documents and take a road test using a vehicle that has a valid registration and meets the state’s minimum insurance requirements. Once you pass this test, you’ll receive your full unrestricted driver’s license right away.
Final Quick Tips
Now that you’re familiar with all the requirements, you can start preparing to get your Florida learner’s license or driver’s license. Before you head out, though, it’s important to note that many driver’s license offices now require appointments for service. Be sure to check with the appropriate offices in your county to confirm the process and schedule an appointment if necessary.