Has the time come to get your license in Orlando, Florida? Whether you've recently moved here and need a local license, or you're a teen finally of age to get behind the wheel, here's what you need to know.
How Can I Get My License in Orlando, Florida?
To get your license in Orlando, you'll need to jump through a few hoops. However, the exact hoops that apply to you depend on your situation.
Drivers 18 and Older without a License to Exchange
If you are 18 and don't have a license from another state, country, or jurisdiction, you'll need to complete the Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course. Once that's done, you can make an appointment at your nearest Division of Motor Services. You'll be required to pass vision, hearing, driving, road signs, and road rules exams. Upon passing, you'll earn your license.
Drivers 18 and Older with a License to Exchange
If you do have a license from somewhere else, you'll only need to pass the vision and hearing tests. Easy peasy.
New Drivers 16 or 17
For those who are not yet 18, but are at least 16, the process is a little bit more involved. For starters, you'll need to have your learner's license for at least a year without any traffic convictions. You'll also need to have completed at least 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training. Then, you'll need to pass the DMV driving test.
The Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course along with the vision, hearing, road rules, and road signs tests are required for the learner's permit so you won't need to complete them again. However, when getting your license, you'll need to bring proof of your course completion, a parental consent form, proof of identity, proof of address, and proof of your Social Security number.
Where Can I Get My License in Orlando, Florida?
When you're ready to head to the Division of Motor Services to get your license, you can visit one of the following Orange County offices:
730 Sand Lake Road
Orlando, FL 32809
6050 Wooden Pine Dr., Suite 100,
Orlando, FL 32829
301 S. Rosalind Ave.
Orlando, FL 32801 (No written tests at this location)
10051 University Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32817
4101 Clarcona Ocoee Road
Orlando, FL 32810
Learn more about these offices on the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) locations page. All of these locations require appointments for driving tests, so be sure to plan ahead.
How Much Does a Driver's License Cost in Orlando?
A Florida Class E driver's license in Orlando costs $48, and that includes the cost of a learner's license. Further, if you apply for the license in a tax collector's office, you'll need to pay an additional $6.25.
What is the Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course?
The Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course, also known as the Florida Drug and Alcohol course, covers how alcohol and drugs can impact your ability to drive. It also includes lessons on Florida traffic laws, how to interact with other Orlando drivers on the road, and how to drive in imperfect weather. In total, it takes four hours to complete.
If you need to take the TSLAE course to get your driver's license in Orlando, Aceable makes it easy and super convenient. Instead of going to a physical classroom, you can take our DHSMV-approved course online from a desktop or smartphone. Plus, you can skip the Orlando DHSMV office for your final test and take it in the app. Learn all you need to know when and where it works best for you!
Learn more about Aceable's DHSMV-approved online TSLAE course!