Limited Time Sale 25% off all courses!

When Can You Start Ohio Drivers Ed

When Can You Start Ohio Drivers Ed?

Are you itching to get into an Ohio drivers ed class so you’re one step closer to having a license of your own? All you high school freshmen and sophomores are so close you can taste the exhaust of the student driver vehicle.

But even if it’s your first day of sophomore year, you may have to wait until you’re a little older.

Minimum Age for Ohio Drivers Ed Classroom Instruction

ohio drivers ed

There are two parts to drivers ed in Ohio. You have to complete 24 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of driving instruction.

The classroom instruction portion can be started a little earlier than the driving portion. You can start at 15 years and 5 months old. Since you can only do two hours of instruction a day it will take about two weeks to complete.

But as it turns out, that’s perfect timing if you start drivers ed as soon as you can. The classroom instruction is fantastic prep for the Ohio temporary instruction permit knowledge exam, which you can’t take until you are at least 15 years and 6 months old.

Minimum Age for Ohio Drivers Ed Driving Instruction

Minimum Age for Ohio Drivers Ed Driving Instruction

Now, on to the driving instruction part of Ohio drivers ed. Before you can take the driving instruction you have to have a temporary instruction permit. It gives the instructor a little more confidence you know what you’re doing before they strap themselves in a car with you behind the wheel.

That means the earliest you can start taking the driving instructions is 15 years and 6 months and 1 day old. (Technically, you might be able to start on the same day you get your permit, but that probably won’t happen.)

You have to do at least eight hours of driving instruction with no more than two hours of instruction a day. If you’re real gung-ho about it you could finish up the required drive time in about a week.

If you want to pace yourself and go a little slower with the drivers ed that’s just fine. You have to have your temporary instruction permit at least six months and get 50 more hours behind the wheel with any adult, licensed driver before you can move on to a probationary drivers license.

 

The main goal is to learn how to drive safely and get a handle on the fundamentals so you can ace your road test on the first try! One way you can do that is by taking the classroom instruction on the Aceable app.  Complete the classes anywhere at any time when it works for your schedule.

start drivers ed button

Images in order of appearance: Pixabay, Giphy, Pixabay

Join the more than 500,000 families who trust Aceable

Get Started Today