Where Can I Get a Driver's License in Jacksonville, Florida?

Wanting to hit the road? First, you need your Florida driver's license. Fortunately, the process isn't all that complicated once you see it broken down. If you've been wondering, "How and where can I get my driver's license in Jacksonville, Florida?" then you've come to the right place.

How and Where to Get a Learner's Permit in Jacksonville

Getting a learner's permit is the first step to getting a driver's license in the Sunshine State.

1. Complete a Drug and Alcohol Course

In Florida, you must first complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE). This is a mandatory four-hour course every new driver has to take.

Aceable's online state-approved course gets you out of stuffy classrooms. You can complete all modules and the final exam completely online, whenever and wherever you want. If you're between 15 and 17 years old, this is the way to go.

Unfortunately, if you're 18 or older, you'll have to do the course in person. Here is a list of Jacksonville DMV offices you can visit:

  • 7120-15 Hogan Road

  • 8299-10 West Beaver Street

  • 10035 San Jose Blvd.

  • 12220 Atlantic Blvd.

  • 6331 Roosevelt Blvd.

  • 12961 N. Main Street

  • 910 W. 44th Street

2. Ace a Knowledge Test

You'll also need to pass a knowledge test. It will quiz you on traffic signs and laws. Everything you need to know is in the Florida Driver License Handbook, so study up! The test has 50 multiple-choice questions and you have to score at least 80%.

Head to your local DMV office (listed above) to take the test. Or take the more convenient option of taking the exam online, from home, with Aceable. This should calm your nerves and better your chances of passing on the first try.

3. Pass Hearing and Vision Tests

Then, you'll need to pass a hearing and vision test. Schedule an appointment at a DMV office to get this done.

4. Finally: Apply for a Permit

Once you've taken all three steps, you can go ahead and apply for your permit. You'll need to take a few documents to the DMV:

Getting a Full Driver's License in Jacksonville

Driving with a permit has some limitations. Think of it as a teen driver's license that comes with rules. To get your definitive Jacksonville driver's license, follow these steps.

1. Rack Up Driving Experience

Once you have your permit, you can start driving supervised. With the help of a driver who is 21 years old or older, get 50 hours behind the wheel. Ten of those hours have to be after sunset and before sunrise. This is the fun part!

2. Pass the Road Skills Test

After all that, it's time for the driving test. Book a date in advance online for your road test and get ready for the big day.

3. Meet All the Requirements

Finally, if you pass the test, all you have to do is pick up your full Florida driver's license. That is, if you meet all these requirements:

  • You're at least 16 years old.

  • You've had a permit for 12 months.

    • The only exception is if you've already turned 18. In that case, you don't need to hold a permit for the full 12 months.

  • You haven't gotten any driving infractions.

  • You have at least 50 hours of driving experience.

Do you check off all your boxes? Then head to the DMV closest to you in Jacksonville and take:

  • Proof of identity

  • Proof of Social Security number

  • Proof of residential address

  • Parental consent form, signed at the DMV by your guardian

Gear Up to Hit the Road with Aceable

Ready to kick off the process? Aceable makes getting your permit and driver's license easy as can be. If you have internet, you can get started as early as today!

Skip The Classroom and Take Your Drivers Ed Course Online with Aceable!

Find Your Course Now