Where Do I Go to Get a Drivers License in San Antonio, Texas?

While it's exciting to get your driver's license, there are a few things you must do to make your trip to the Texas DMV a success. First, make an appointment with a San Antonio Texas Department of Public Safety driver's license office. You can do this online or by visiting an office in person and using their onsite appointment scheduling kiosk. 

Here's where you can get your San Antonio driver's license:

  • Leon Valley Mega Center: 7410 Huebner Rd 

  • San Antonio General McMullen: 1803 S General McMullen Dr 

  • San Antonio South East: 6502 S New Braunfels Ave 

  • San Antonio-Universal City Pat Booker: 1633 Pat Booker Road 

Can 16-year-olds Get a San Antonio Driver's License? 

Yes, 16-year-old drivers who have a learner license for at least six months and complete Texas driver's ed in San Antonio can get a provisional driver's license. 

To be eligible for a driver's license at the age of 16 or 17, you must do the following:

  • Get your Texas learner's license, which enables you to drive with a licensed driver.

  • Complete a minimum of 30 hours of driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. At least 10 hours must be nighttime driving. 

  • Complete a teen driver education course or a parent-taught teen driver education course that meets Texas state law. 

  • Drive for seven hours with an instructor. 

  • Ride with an instructor for seven hours as an observer.

  • Complete the Impact Texas Teen Driver Program within 90 days prior to taking the Texas driver skills test. 

  • Pass the driving test.

If you have a Texas learner's license, it expires on your 18th birthday. Drivers between the ages of 18 and 24 seeking a San Antonio driver's license must also complete an Impact Texas Driver course within 90 days prior to passing their Texas drivers test. They must also participate in a six-hour adult driver education course

What Should I Bring With me to Get a Driver's License in San Antonio, Texas?

When preparing to get your driver's license, start by making an appointment with the Texas DMV in San Antonio. You can do so up to six months before you want to get your Texas driver's license. 

Bring the following to your appointment:

  • Unsigned driver's license application

  • Evidence of lawful presence in the U.S. or U.S. citizenship

  • Proof of identity 

  • Social Security number

  • Proof of Texas residency

Are There Fees to Get My Driver's License in San Antonio?

Yes. If you are 16 or 17 and want a Texas learner's license, you'll pay a fee of $16. You'll pay another $16 fee when you get your provisional license after passing your driver's test. This expires on your 18th birthday, at which point you can get an unrestricted license.

Drivers 18 or older pay $33 for an unrestricted driver's license that's good for eight years. The price for a Texas driver's license drops to $9 if you are 84 or older. 

You can get a provisional Texas driver's license or unrestricted driver's license at the Texas Department of Public Safety offices in San Antonio listed above. Make an appointment, and be sure to complete the required driver's ed courses in San Antonio and bring your unsigned license application along with the other required documents. 

Skip The Classroom and Take Your Texas Drivers Ed Course Online with Aceable!

Find Your Course Now