Are you ready to take on the open Florida highways and feel the wind in your hair? Is driving around in your mom’s mini-van just not cutting it anymore? Getting your Florida motorcycle license is easier than you might think and could be your ticket to cruising the coasts. We’re here to walk you through it all step-by-step. Keep reading to get the deets.
Florida Motorcycle License Step-by-Step Guide
- Earn your learner's permit
- Pass the Florida Driver's License Exam
- Pass the Basic Rider Course
- Pay the state endorsement fees
Step 1 - Earn Your Learner's Permit
If you haven’t already done so, you’ll need to get on that learner permit grind. To get your learner license you’ll have to take the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course (psst! There’s an app for that ). You’ll want to make sure you have all of your needed documentation and that you've reported the completion of your Florida Drug and Alcohol course before heading to the DHSMV. You can check out this online list to make sure you’re not forgetting anything (and avoid facing the wrath of mom and dad). You'll also need to take a hearing a vision test when you get there, so be sure to bring along any contacts or glasses if you wear them!
Step 2 - Pass the Florida Driver's License Exam
Next, you’ll take the written Florida DMV test. You can do this at the DHSMV or online by state-approved providers. We know the word “test” sounds a little intimidating, but it’s only 50 multiple-choice questions so don’t sweat it. You can also find plenty of test prep materials and practice tests online to make sure you’re ready for any curveballs.
Step 3 - Pass the Basic Rider Course
Completing the Basic Rider Course (BRC) is one of the last steps to getting your motorcycle driver license. The BRC is a motorcycle driver training course required by the Florida DMV. During the Basic Rider Course, you’ll finally be able to get on your bike and practice riding and motorcycle safety -- the moment you’ve been waiting for! In the course, you’ll receive classroom instruction over general best practices, highway safety and anything else you’ll need to know as a new motorcycle rider.
When you're killing it in the BRC
Step 4 - Pay the state endorsement fees
Upon successful completion of the steps above, all you have to do is stop in the DHSMV and pay the required endorsement fees. The fees include a $7 motorcycle endorsement fee and, if applicable, a $48 licensing fee.
Adding a Motorcycle Endorsement to Your Florida Driver License
- Have a valid Florida driver license
- Complete the Basic Rider Course
- Pay endorsement fees
If you already have your Florida driver license, the steps to adding a motorcycle endorsement to your license are pretty easy. Simply complete the same Basic Rider Course listed above to obtain motorcycle training and pay the applicable endorsement fees at the DMV office and you’re on your way.
So there you have it, a step-by-step guide to obtaining the freedom of the open road (aka your Florida motorcycle license). You can now ditch the mom-mobile you’ve been stuck with and cruise around the sunshine state on your motorcycle instead. Happy driving!