15% OFF OR MORE WITH OFFER!
You can’t register a motor vehicle in Ohio (or legally drive it, for that matter), without first obtaining auto insurance. Here are the requirements!
You can’t register a motor vehicle in Ohio (or legally drive it, for that matter), without first obtaining auto insurance. The state of Ohio has a car insurance policy requirement in place so that all drivers can take financial responsibility for any damage they may cause during a car accident. You make payments to an insurance company, which then pays for collision-related costs to the extent that your plan covers those costs.
If you pulled over without automobile insurance, you could lose your license! Ohio also does random insurance verification by mail in which you have to prove your insurance coverage within 21 days. There are many different types of auto insurance coverage offered by insurance companies, but the only kind required by Ohio law is minimum liability insurance.
Please note that the below is the minimum coverage required, the Ohio BMV (Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles) recommends additional insurance such as collision coverage, Uninsured motorist coverage / underinsured motorist coverage, and comprehensive coverage.
$25,000 – bodily injury liability per person in a crash $50,000 – bodily injury liability coverage per accident
$25,000 – Property damage liability coverage per accident
Find an insurance policy that fits your needs and budget. Some insurance companies may even give you discounts for stuff like taking driver education or having a good record. Make sure you maintain auto insurance, and keep your proof of insurance status with you at all times. Try keeping a copy of your insurance info card in your glovebox and another copy in your wallet. You’ll need to have it in case you’re involved in a crash, a police officer asks to see it, or if you’re registering a vehicle.