We all know that texting while driving is dangerous, but how much money can it cost you if you get caught? Take a look at the infographic below to see texting and driving fines by state, or scroll down to see what the penalties are for driving distracted by a cellphone in your location.
Texting and Driving Fines by State
The texting while driving fine for a primary offense in Alabama is $25. Fines increase for subsequent offenses.
If you use your cell phone while driving in Alaska, watch out. Texting and driving is considered a misdemeanor by Alaska law and carries a maximum penalty of $10,000 and one year in prison.
Arizona currently does not have a statewide law in place to enforce texting and driving fines.
Arkansas residents who use their mobile phone while operating a motor vehicle can face a fine of up to $100.
Those who text and drive in California could face a penalty of $25. A subsequent offense will cost residents $50.
Better use a hands-free device in Colorado unless you want a traffic ticket. Texting while driving carries a penalty of $50 for a first-time offense. The fine doubles for a second offense.
If Connecticut law enforcement catches you using an electronic device while driving, you could pay up to $125 in fines.
The fine for texting and driving in Delaware is $50 for a first offense.
In Florida, a police officer can only charge you with texting and driving if you commit another traffic violation while doing so. Nevertheless, sending a text message while driving can cost you $30 in the Sunshine State.
Texting and driving fines in Georgia are some of the highest in the nation. You’ll have to pay up to $150 for violating this distracted driving law as well as tack on one point to your driver record.
Don’t even think about sending text messages while driving in Hawaii. The state’s fine for doing so is $297 — and that’s just for a first offense!
The penalty for texting while driving in Idaho is a fine of up to $85. Better off using a hands-free phone!
For breaking the texting and driving law in Illinois, residents could pay up to $75 in fines.
Driver inattention caused by texting and driving is a major offense in Indiana. Using a mobile phone behind the wheel can cost residents as much as $500.
In Iowa, the fine for using a cell phone while driving is $30. If you cause a car crash or car accident due to texting and driving, however, you could pay as much as $1,000.
In Kansas, using a mobile phone behind the wheel carries a maximum penalty of $60.
The fine and penalty for texting while driving in Kentucky is $25.
Driver distraction is taken very seriously in Louisiana. A first offense for texting and driving carries a penalty of $175.
Using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle in Maine is prohibited and carries a fine of $100.
Maryland residents can be pulled over for texting while driving and fined up to $100.
A first-time texting while driving offender in Massachusetts could pay up to $100 in fines. For a second offense, the penalty increases to $250.
If you text and drive in Michigan, you could pay up to $100 in fines.
Minnesota’s fines for texting while driving have recently increased. Now you could pay up to $225 for a first offense.
In Mississippi, drivers can be fined up to $100 for using a cell phone while operating a vehicle.
Texting while driving laws in Missouri only apply to drivers ages 21 and under or those with a commercial driver license. If you’re a school bus driver, teen driver or novice driver, you could face up to $200 in fines for texting and driving.
Montana currently has no statewide laws in place that prohibit texting and driving.
In Nebraska, texting while driving carries a fee of up to $200 for a first-time offense. You could also get up to three points added to your driving record.
Texting while driving can cost offenders in Nevada up to $50. Fines increase for subsequent offenses.
In New Hampshire, the fine for using a mobile phone while driving is $100.
Highway safety is no joke in the Garden State. If you use a cell phone behind the wheel in New Jersey you could pay a penalty of up to $400!
New Mexico enacted a statewide ban on texting and driving in 2014. The fine for a first offense is $25.
Traffic safety laws in New York prohibit drivers from using an electronic device while operating a motor vehicle. Fines for a first offense can be as high as $200.
Using a cell phone while driving carries a fine of $100 in North Carolina.
In North Dakota, the fine for texting and driving is $100.
If you’re under the age of 18 in Ohio and get caught texting while driving, you could pay up to $150 and have your license suspended for six months!
In Oklahoma, first-time texting and driving offenders can pay up to $100. Those who text and drive also risk losing their driver license or getting a driver license suspension.
Texting and driving in Oregon will cost you a pretty penny. The maximum penalty for using a mobile phone while driving a car is $500.
Fines for texting while driving in Pennsylvania are $50 for a first offense.
Using a smartphone while driving in Rhode Island carries a fine of $85.
If you violate the anti-texting and driving law in South Carolina you will have to pay a fine of $25.
Using a mobile device while driving is prohibited in South Dakota and carries a fine of $100.
For texting and driving in Tennessee, you could face a fine of $50 plus court fees of up to $10.
There is no statewide ban against using a cell phone behind the wheel in Texas, although nearly 100 cities have adopted local laws against texting and driving.
Utah has the second highest fine for texting and driving in the nation — $750. Violators of the state’s anti-text and drive law could also face jail time.
In Vermont, fines for texting and driving are capped at $100 for a first-time offense. Penalties increase for a second offense.
Texting while driving is a secondary offense in Virginia, which means that residents have to be cited for another traffic violation in order to be charged with it. Fines for using a smartphone while operating a car can be as high as $125 in the Old Dominion state.
The fine for texting and driving in Washington is $124.
Text messaging while driving in West Virginia carries a fine of $100 for a first offense.
Using a handheld device while driving in Wisconsin can cost residents a whopping $400.
To enforce the anti-text and drive law in Wyoming, legislators have enacted a fine of up to $75.
Stay in touch
Sign up to learn more about drivers ed and get exclusive offers