00 HRS
00 Min
00 SEC

TDLR Approved Course #C2839

Texas Adult Drivers Ed Online

Texas Adult Drivers Ed Online

  • Get your license with the top mobile-first Texas certified driving school

  • Six hour course - the shortest allowed by Texas law

  • 1 free month of Allstate® Roadside Services

  • Written exam included in our app - skip the DPS!

  • Available instant certificate delivery



Regular $68

With Offer $29.95

"I love Aceable I was able to do it whenever and wherever after school or after practice."

Iliana B. | San Antonio, TX

Save 55% when you select 1 FREE month of Allstate Roadside Services.

20% of crashes happen while stuck on the side of the road according to the Federal Highway Administration. Make sure you're covered with Allstate Roadside Services®. Only $5/month after your free trial. Cancel anytime.
  • Flat tire service
  • Battery service
  • Towing
  • Fuel delivery
  • Lockout service
Regular $68
with Promotion $29.95

Approved by the Texas DPS

We’re the easy and convenient way for Texas adult drivers to meet state requirements for drivers ed.

Fun & engaging content on the go

Bite-sized Texas adult driver education content on any device via web, your iPad/iPhone/Android device through our app. With Aceable's online driving school, interactive content helps keep you engaged. No more boring driving school classes.

Available anytime, anywhere

Most adult drivers ed courses in Texas require you to sit in a classroom or in front of a desktop computer. Aceable lets you complete an Texas adult drivers ed course in as little as six hours from your smartphone!

Sign up in-app or online

show less

Purchase our state-accredited online Texas adult driver education course for ages 18+. Not sure if Aceable is right for you? We offer a 100% money-back guarantee.


Take the written test

show less

Move through our Texas 6 hour driving course at your pace, stopping and starting whenever you need. You always switch devices and pick up right where you left off. At the end of our adult drivers education course, take the official Texas DMV written knowledge exam. With our help, we’re certain you’ll ace it!


Get your certificate of completion and get your permit

show less

After you pass the written test, we’ll email your certificate of completion within 24 hours. Present this and your required documents at the nearest Department of Public Safety office to get an adult permit.


Schedule a driving test and complete ITD

show less

Use your permit to practice driving with other licensed adults, or skip ahead and schedule your driving exam immediately. Within 90 days of your in-car exam, you must also complete the Impact Texas Drivers (ITD) course, a free, 1-hour video course provided online by the Texas DPS.


Go, drive, be free

show less

Take the driving test to get your Texas license! As soon as you are ready to get your unrestricted license, all you have to do is pass the behind-the-wheel test. Hit the open road and breathe in the sweet, sweet smell of freedom.

If you have any questions about the Texas adult driving course, then Aceable can help. Get in touch today!


What are the steps to Texas Adult Drivers Ed?

show less
  1. Purchase Aceable’s Texas drivers license course and finish the six-hour course and written test.
  2. Wait for your Certificate of Completion to arrive in your email within one hour of your course completion.
  3. If you’re 18-24 years old, complete the free 1-hour Impact Texas Young Drivers course (not presently required for 25+)
  4. Head to the DPS, pass the vision and driving exams, and get your license!

Does this course include the state-approved DPS written test?

show less

The state-approved DPS written test will be provided to you at the very end of the 6 hour adult driving course (8 levels). This means that you won’t need to take the written test at the DPS! The test will consist of 30 multiple-choice questions. You have one hour to complete the test and must score at least 70% or better (at least 21 out of 30 questions correct) in order to pass and receive a Certificate of Completion from Aceable. If you fail the written test, you can take it again 24 hours later. There is no limit on how many times you can take it and you don’t need to pay again to take it more than once.


Am I required to complete any driving hours before getting my license?

show less

Adults in Texas aren’t required to show proof of a set number of behind-the-wheel practice hours completed. However, you do need to take a driving test in order to get your license. Therefore, if you’ve never been behind-the-wheel or aren’t quite comfortable with your driving skills, it’s recommended that you get a permit before getting your license. That way you can practice driving and return to the DPS when you’re ready to ace the driving test.


What do I bring to the DPS to get my license?

show less
  • DL-14A: Application for Driver License or Identification Card
  • Proof of identity and lawful US presence or citizenship: valid US passport OR your official birth certificate, social security card, and Texas ID card. Click the link for more examples.
  • Your social security card: If you can’t find the original hardcopy, you’ll need to order a new one. If you haven’t been issued a Social Security Number(SSN), you’ll need to fill out the Social Security Affidavit at the DPS office.
  • Proof of Texas residency (bring two): deed, mortgage statement, valid and unexpired Texas voter registration card, utility bills, etc.
  • Marriage license, divorce decree, or court ordered name change: Only if you’re using a name other than what’s on your birth certificate
  • Proof of Texas vehicle registration and financial responsibility for each vehicle that you own (ex: car insurance) OR a statement saying that you do not own a motor vehicle(items 15 and 16 in the DL-14A form)– Your name does not need to be on the car insurance
  • Certificate of Completion from Aceable: We email this to you. Your certificate will have a ‘P’ showing that you’ve already passed the written test and don’t need to take it again at the DPS.
  • $25 Driver License Fee

What tests do I take at the DPS to get my license?

show less

You’ll need to pass both the vision and driving tests at the DPS in order to get your license.


When will I get my Certificate of Completion?

show less

Aceable will email your Adult Drivers Ed Certificate of Completion (ADE-1317) to you within one hour of your course completion. You’ll need to print out the certificate and present a paper copy to the DPS when you test for your license. The email will also contain a checklist of the other items you must bring to the DPS.


Where in Texas can I take this adult drivers ed course?

show less

Our adult drivers ed course can be completed in any Texas city, including major cities like Houston, Dallas, San Antonio, and Austin. We also have you covered in Amarillo, Brownsville, and everywhere in between!

More Resources

If you are over 18 and still need to get your Texas driver license, let Aceable help you navigate the process from start to finish. From Fort Worth to San Antonio, we will help you find where to go and what you need to complete your education and earn your driver license.


How to Get Your Driver's License in Houston, Texas

Did you know that if you’re over 18, you still need to take a drivers education course to get your driver license in Houston, Texas? Find out what else you need before heading to the Houston DMV. Read More


5 Steps to Get Your Driver's License in Dallas, Texas

If you’re looking to get your Dallas drivers license, here are 5 steps to make the process easy and hassle free. Read More