In California, you can apply for your learner’s permit at 15½ years old and be on your way to becoming a legitimate California driver. To speed up that process, you can start learning driver's ed at 14 years old to prepare for your learner’s permit test, also called the knowledge test. Aceable offers a comprehensive online driver's ed course for California teens. Here’s how the course works.
Is Taking a Driver's Ed Course a Must in California?
Driver's ed is a rite of passage for most American teens, but not all California teens have to take a driver's ed course with a driving school. The state of California requires that teens 17½ years old or younger take a professional driver's ed course. Those 18 or older can skip it. That said, it's still a valuable tool in making sure you have the knowledge you need to stay safe on the road.
How Does Aceable’s Driver's Ed Course Work?
Online driver's ed in California is required to cover 30 hours of coursework. The DMV won’t grant a learner’s permit if this requirement isn’t fulfilled. That’s why it’s important to choose an online driving school, like Aceable, that is state-approved. Here are the steps to getting your California driver’s license with Aceable.
Sign up for our California Online Driver's Ed Course. You can study at your own pace and at times that best suit your schedule.
At the end of the course, you’ll take an exam. To pass, you need to score at least 70% (that’s 35 out of 50 questions).
After passing the course, we’ll send your Certificate of Completion by mail. You’ll need this when you take the knowledge test at the DMV. Pass the knowledge test and you’ll receive your permit. We’re confident that with our course, which includes practice tests, you will pass the first time! If not, you can retake the test two more times within 12 months.
With your permit, you’re ready to learn to drive. According to California law, you must complete six hours of driving lessons with a professional driving instructor. After that, you need to finish 50 hours behind-the-wheel lessons (of which 10 hours must be at night). This can be with your parent, guardian, or any adult 25 years or older who has a valid driver’s license.
With your theory and practical lessons in the bag, it’s time to take the driving test. You must be at least 16 years old and have had your permit for six months. Taking a driving test is nerve-wracking for many teens. If you fail the first time, you have two more chances to retake the test.
We’ve put together a handy checklist to help you navigate the steps to getting both your California learner’s permit and driver’s license.
Why Teens Love Driver's Ed with Aceable
We get that learning isn’t always fun for teens. On top of school work, you may groan at the thought of having to add driver's ed to your schedule. Aceable believes that learning to drive should be easy and fun. Here’s why teens love our online driver's ed course.
No In-Class Lessons!
Thanks to the Internet and modern technology, you won’t have to attend a physical driver’s ed class. That means your parents don’t have to drive you to class and you don’t have to sit through long boring lessons. With Aceable, you learn online, on any device, at any time, and in the comfort of your home.
We Make Learning Fun
We’ve designed an interactive and entertaining course with gamified quizzes, video, and narration by our cute and quirky robot character. Most participants are pleasantly surprised at how humor is injected into a serious topic like driving. Despite the humorous approach, though, make no mistake that at Aceable we take driving seriously. Throughout the course, we stress the importance of being a safe driver.
Aceable has helped nearly 650,000 Californians become drivers. If you’re between 14 and 17½ years or older, sign up for our teen online driver’s ed course and start working toward your California driver's license today.