15% OFF OR MORE WITH OFFER!
For 57 million Americans with disabilities, accessibility is crucial to the enjoyment of and participation in many aspects of life, such as work, play and transportation.
Having the freedom to drive and park comfortably is a huge component of daily transportation. Drivers with disabilities have options, but these aren’t always as clear when put in government terms or mixed with complicated jargon.
For those who are disabled and living in Nevada, there are options when it comes to parking and driving. We broke down the requirements and procedures needed for drivers with disabilities to comfortably get from point A to point B in Nevada.
A person with disabilities can apply for disability parking placard or a special license plate through the Nevada DMV, also known as the Department of Motor Vehicles.
In the state of Nevada, only those with a permanent disability qualify for Disabled Person (DP) placards, license plates or permits. These are valid ten years, and will allow you:
You will need a placard to park in spots marked for disabled persons.
A disabled person with a reversible condition may obtain only placards or motorcycle stickers. The DMV will issue up to two placards or stickers for temporary (valid up to six months) or moderate (valid up to six years) conditions.
Disabled Veteran can apply for special disability plates
These are for people with a 100% military service-connected disability. Veteran plates will:
To apply for a veteran plate and/or handicapped placard, complete this application.
According to the Nevada DMV, a person must have one or more of the following conditions to qualify as disabled:
To get a placard, the DMV advises that you place your order by mail or fax. To do so, mail your completed application to the address on the form OR fax it to (775) 684-4797.
If you would rather file the application in person, visit your local DMV Full Service Office. You’ll need to present the following documents:
To get a license plate, motorcycle stickers or a combination of these and placards, visit your local DMV Full Service Office or a County Assessor office.
You will need to go to the DMV or the county assessor office
Is your vehicle currently registered in Nevada? Download and complete the Organization Application for Disabled Persons License Plates and/or Placards and get your physician's signature. Bring the completed application, your physician’s signature and your old plates to the DMV. (If you wish to keep your old plates, you’ll be required to bring the rear plate and give up the decal in person.)
If you want to keep the same expiration date, the DMV will give you new plates with a new registration slip and decal. You will not be required to get an emission inspection or renew your registration.
You’ll be able to renew your vehicle registration for a full year. In order to do this, you must:
Note that your expiration date will change if the current expiration date is more than 35 days away.
If you just bought your vehicle, or are registering it in Nevada for the first time, follow this list of Registration Requirements or New Resident Guide. The DMV also offers a handy online Registration Fee Estimate calculator.
Be sure to bring your required documentation and the completed disabled plate application.
Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor, and offenders may be fined up to $250 or face jail time. Don’t be that guy.