If you got a traffic ticket in the state of California, you may be able to dismiss your ticket by enrolling in California Traffic School . In general, you may be eligible for ticket dismissal if you have a valid drivers license, if the offense occurred while driving a noncommercial vehicle, and if the ticket is for an infraction that is a moving violation.
Not every infraction is eligible for dismissal via traffic school, however, so Aceable put together a quick guide for how you can get approved to dismiss your California ticket. Read on for more!
How to find out if you can dismiss a ticket in California
Take Texas Defensive Driving with Aceable and dismiss your ticket
The court will decide and notify you of your eligibility for traffic school ticket dismissal, depending on your offense and personal driving history (see Eligibility section). They will usually mail you a courtesy notice regarding your eligibility as well as a deadline for completing your program.
Always remember to check with your court before taking a traffic school course as they will tell you with finality whether or not you’re eligible.
Who is eligible for California Traffic School?
You may be eligible to dismiss your ticket with traffic school:
- Your drivers license is valid
- Your violation happened in a non-commercial vehicle
- Your offense was not a misdemeanor
- Your offense was not alcohol-related
- You have not completed traffic school for another ticket within the last 18 months
How much does California Traffic School Cost?
Most online defensive driving courses will cost under $30. Aceable’s California Traffic School course, for example, costs $19 and includes immediate electronic certificate processing.
What is in a California Traffic School course?
Traffic school courses will cover defensive driving, traffic laws in California, and overall safety tips on becoming a more responsible driver. You will also have to pass a final exam in order to fully complete the course.
How to get credit for California Traffic School
Once you complete the course, you will receive a certificate of traffic school completion. You must submit this certificate to the California traffic court of your insurance provider.
What happens if I am not eligible to dismiss my ticket?
If the court deems you ineligible to dismiss your traffic ticket with traffic school, your driving record may have points added to it. Your California drivers license may also be suspended.
Need to take California Traffic School? We’ve got you covered: Aceable lets you complete California-authorized online traffic school on your phone , computer or mobile device in just a few hours. Plus, Aceable traffic school is accredited by the California Department of Motor Vehicles and all California courts. It’s the most convenient and hassle-free way to get your traffic school course done!