Getting your driver's license in Georgia is an important rite of passage for many teens. There are a few requirements for taking this vital step. Use this guide to learn how to get your driver's license in Georgia no matter your age. Keep in mind Aceable provides an easy way to complete your driver's education course online to meet the new Joshua's Law requirement.
How to Get Your Georgia Driver's License Under 18
There are two steps to getting your Georgia license when you're under 18. First, you'll need a learner's permit. And then you can get your provisional license.
1. Obtaining Your Learner's Permit (Class CP)
Step 1: Plan Ahead for Your Visit
Before you visit a Department of Driver Services (DDS) customer service center to apply for your Georgia learner's permit, you can complete some information online through the DDS website. You will need an email address and documents to prove your identity to sign up. Some documents you can submit include a birth certificate or US Passport.
You will also need to submit your Social Security number and proof of school enrollment. This could be done by submitting a report card, certification of enrollment, or transcript from your high school.
Step 2: Prepare for Your Knowledge Exam
To get your learner's permit, you will need to pass a knowledge exam that consists of a road rules test and a road signs test. You need to answer at least 15 out of 20 questions correctly on each test to pass. You can download the DDS driver's manual to study and take a practice test online.
Step 3: Visit the DDS Customer Service Center to Apply for Your Permit
Once you have all your required documentation and feel ready for the knowledge test, visit your local DDS center to apply for your Georgia learner's permit. You will need your parent or guardian to sign for your learner's permit. At the customer service center, you will need to:
Pass a vision test
Pass the knowledge test
Take a photo
Pay the $10 permit fee
Have your parent or guardian show proof of their relationship with you and proof of their identity
After you've held your instructional permit for at least 1 year and 1 day and are at least 16 years old, you can start the process of gaining your provisional driver's license.
2. Obtaining Your Provisional Driver's License (Class D)
Step 1: Satisfy Joshua's Law Requirements
As of July 1, 2021, Georgia requires 16- and 17-year-olds to complete an approved driver's education course. There are a few different methods you can use to complete this requirement. The easiest and most economical way is to complete an online driver's education course at Aceable. You can work on your course anytime, anywhere, and there are a number of tools to make the course highly engaging and easy to navigate.
Step 2: Plan Ahead for Your Visit
As with your learner's permit, before visiting your DDS customer service center you must submit the appropriate license form online. You will also need to gather documentation proving your identity and school enrollment. Your road test also needs to be scheduled ahead of time online.
Step 3: Visit Your Local DDS Customer Service Center to Apply for Your Provisional License
When you feel confident in your driving skills and are ready for the road test, bring your documentation along with your parent or guardian to the DDS Service Center.
You will need to pass a vision test as well as the road skills test to get your license. Keep in mind you will need to provide your own vehicle for the road skills test.
Once you are 18, you can upgrade your provisional license to a full Class C license.
Age 18 and Over: Obtaining Your Class C License in Georgia
Step 1: Prepare for your Visit to the DDS Customer Service Center
As with your learner's permit and provisional license, you will need to submit an online form on the DDS website to start the process. You will also need to have proof of your identity and residency in Georgia ready. Be sure to schedule your road test ahead of time.
Step 2: Apply for Your License at the DDS Customer Service Center
Once you are ready to take your road skills test, visit our local DDS customer service center to present your documents. You will need to pass a vision exam, knowledge exam, and road skills test if you have not done so previously.
When you pass your required exams, you will have your picture taken and pay the license fee.
Congratulations on obtaining your Georgia driver's license! Aceable is always here if you'd like to brush up on your driver's education or get a discount on insurance. Have fun on the open road, and be safe!