What Type of Traffic Tickets Can Be Dismissed in Florida?

If you have received a traffic ticket in Florida, you're probably wondering what options there are for you. First of all, do not get down on yourself! A large number of people get traffic citations. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), nearly 2.5 million traffic citations were issued in 2021.

After receiving the ticket, you'll need to choose whether or not you'll plead guilty to the charge. You'll have 30 days from the time of citation to pay the fine or challenge the ticket. If you opt to challenge the ticket, your ticket may be dismissable.

Of course, whether or not a ticket is dismissable depends on a lot of factors, including the type of citation, your driving record, and if you have evidence of innocence. Not sure if you have an appealable case? Aceable is here to let you know what can and can't get dismissed in Florida.

What Type of Traffic Ticket Is Dismissable in Florida?

In Florida, there are multiple types of citations that you can contest. You'll need to either head to court to please your case or take a Driver Improvement Course.

Some examples of tickets you can dismiss include:

  • Failure to display driver's license

  • Operating a vehicle with an expired license

  • Operating a vehicle with an expired registration

  • Not providing proof of insurance at the time of the citation

  • Having a vehicle with unsafe conditions, like missing taillights, missing headlights, or damaged windshields

If you have been issued any of the above violations and you correct them, your fine could be reduced or even eliminated upon evaluation. Failure to comply and pay in the 30-day timeframe could result in additional fines or the suspension of your license.

How to Fight a Florida Traffic Ticket in Court

If you are looking to contest your ticket in Florida, you will want to be aware of a few requirements. Drivers who get a traffic citation will need to contact the Clerk of Court in the county where the ticket was issued. You will then request a hearing with the County Judge, Magistrate, or Hearing Officer.

When appealing, have vital information ready, like your identification and your citation number. If found innocent, your fines or license points can be reduced. If found guilty, you will still be subject to the penalty, and potentially, additional court costs.

What Type of Traffic Ticket Is Not Dismissable in Florida?

In some cases, traffic citations are deemed too dangerous to be not dismissable. These types of violations are considered unsafe and require corrective action. According to the FLHSMV, some examples of these types of citations include:

  • Passing a school bus

  • Racing other vehicles

  • Reckless driving

  • Running a red light

  • Using a traffic control device

Can You Take a Driver Improvement Course to Reduce a Florida Ticket? 

While avoiding traffic offenses is always a good idea, there are options to ease the pain of the ticket. If you received a traffic ticket that isn't a serious moving or non-moving traffic violation, you can remedy it by taking an approved Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course. Taking and passing the course can save you up to 18% in citation fees and keep points off your license. You have 30 days from the issuing of the ticket to take the course. 

If you received your ticket in Miami-Dade County, you can take Aceable's Driver Improvement Course. The course can be taken online or even from a mobile device and completed in a few hours. In addition to the reduction of fines or points, you'll be a knowledgeable driver! Sign up for the course, or any of Aceable's driver improvement courses today!

Save time and money by taking the FL BDI Course!

FL Basic Drivers Improvement Course