Getting your Florida driver's license is freeing, but you can't do it all alone. Once you get your learner's permit, it's time to get experience behind the wheel. In Florida, you must drive supervised for 50 hours total before you can finally apply for your driver's license.
So how can you practice? Do you need to enroll in a driving school, or can your parents teach you? Let's go over the facts.
Can My Parents Teach Me to Drive in Florida?
Yes, your parents can teach you to drive in Florida. But only if they are licensed drivers.
The law in the Sunside State is clear. It says that any parent, guardian, or responsible adult over the age of 21 can supervise teens learning to drive.
Remember, you need to get 50 hours of driving practice, and 10 of those must be at night. Print the Learner's License Driving Log to get organized. Leave it in the car so you and your parent can keep track of your driving sessions.
Your Parents Will Need to Fill Out Forms, Too
When you're done practicing, your parents will have to fill out the Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor form. This form is important! Without it, you won't be able to apply for a driver's license in Florida.
7 Things Parents Can Teach Teens in Florida
If your parents have never taught anyone to drive before, they might not know where to start. Show them this list so they're prepared to be a calm and helpful instructor. Once you master these skills, you'll be ready to ace your driving test!
1. Backing Up
Practice checking the rear of your vehicle and blind spots before backing up slowly and safely.
2. Signaling and Turning
Get into the habit of always signaling your turns. Learn to check your blindspots and identify safe breaks in traffic.
3. Safe Lane Changes
Check all your blind spots, signal your intentions, and match the speed of the other lane. Get practice doing this smoothly.
Parallel parking is no longer on the Florida road test. But you will still be asked to park in straight and angled spots. Have your parents show you how to park head first and in reverse.
5. Three-Point Turn
Your examiner will probably ask you to do a three-point turn. It takes practice, so have your parents teach you how to do this basic maneuver.
6. Right of Way
Practice different right-of-way scenarios: stop signs, yield signs, unmarked T-intersections, and four-way intersections.
7. Merging Onto a Highway
Finally, ask your parents to give you pointers on merging onto highways smoothly. Learn how to check the wing mirrors, blind spots, signal, and match other drivers' speeds.
Teaching Teens to Drive Is a Big Responsibility
Being a driving instructor is a big responsibility. It's your parent's job to keep you, other drivers, and pedestrians safe. Plus, they have to vouch to the state of Florida that, after 50 hours of driving, you're ready to hit the road on your own.
Driving is a privilege, not a right, and you can lose it. For example, teens who skip school or drive erratically can have their licenses canceled at the request of their parents!
Fast-Track Your Florida Driver's License
Eager to get behind the wheel? First, you need to get your learner's permit. Aceable offers fully online Florida TLSAE classes and even lets you take the dreaded permit test from home! The sooner you enroll in a Florida teen driver's ed course, the sooner you'll sit in the driver's seat — with a parent by your side, of course.