Are you a teen looking to get your driver's license in Georgia? Once you turn 15, you can start the process with your learner's permit. However, to get your license, you'll need to log time behind the wheel. But what all do you need to do? The rules are changing. Here's all you need to know about the new teen driver's education requirements in Georgia.
What Is the New Teen Drivers Requirement in Georgia?
As of July 1, 2021, 17-year-olds must meet Joshua's Law requirements to get their restricted license. Prior to the recent legislature, 17-year-olds were exempt from the 30 hours of coursework and six hours of behind-the-wheel training as it only applied to 16-year-olds.
How to Get Your License in Georgia in 5 Steps
If you're under the age of 18, here are the steps you need to follow to get your driver's license.
1. Enroll in a Drivers Ed Course
"The first step for a teen in Georgia to get a license is to get an Instructional Permit (CP), or learner’s permit, which they can do at age 15," explains Karen Condor, GA traffic law expert with AutoInsurance.org.
Once you're 15 years old, you can enroll in a Department of Driver Safety (DDS)-approved driver's ed course to learn everything you need to know before getting behind the wheel. Doing so will also meet the Joshua's Law requirement of 30 hours of coursework. At Aceable, we provide the required courses along with unlimited practice tests so you can feel 100% confident going into your permit test.
2. Get Your Instructional Permit (Learner's Permit)
With your coursework completed, you'll be ready to take your permit test. You can make an appointment with the DDS or just walk in.
"The drivers’ education requirement consists of two tests; The Road Rules Test and The Road Signs Test," explains Condor. "A learner’s permit applicant is required to get at least 15 out of 20 answers correct on each test to pass," When you pass, you'll get your permit!
3. Meet Joshua's Law Requirements
Once you have your permit, the next step is to ensure you've met Georgia's Joshua's Law requirements, which include:
Education: 30 hours of classroom or online instruction from a DDS-approved school.
Practice: Six hours of behind-the-wheel training at a DDS-approved school and 40 hours of practice with a parent/guardian. Alternatively, you can complete the Parent Teen Driving Guide which includes 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent or guardian.
The 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice must include six hours of nighttime driving. Remember, Joshua's Law requirements apply to both 16 AND 17-year-olds now (as of July 1, 2021).
4. Meet the Time Requirement
Even if you complete the Joshua's Law requirements, you still need to be at least 16 years old and hold your instructional permit for one year and one day before you can apply for your license.
5. Take and Pass the Driving Test
"The next step is to get a Provisional Driver’s License (Class D)," explains Condor.
You'll need to gather proof that you've completed the education and practice requirements along with various other documents. Your DDS-approved course provider should've provided you with a Certificate of Completion. Further, the Driving Experience Affidavit (DDS-7) will prove you completed your 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice. See a full list of the required documents from DDS.
With everything ready, schedule your Teen Driver Road Test. Condor notes you'll need a 75% score or higher to pass.
Get Your Georgia Driver's License!
Are you at least 15 years old and ready to start the process of getting your driver's license? Aceable can help! Our DDS-approved online course can help you meet the Joshua Law requirements and pass your permit test. Complete everything online when and where it works best for you. Plus, enjoy gamified quizzes and videos that make the content more interesting!
Start online driver's ed with Aceable!