Are you ready to get your Atlanta driver’s license or help your teen get theirs, but aren't sure where to go? The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) has one customer service center in Atlanta that takes care of driver's license requests. Learn where it is and how to prepare for your driver's license appointment.
Where Can I Get an Atlanta Driver’s License?
To get your driver’s license in Atlanta, Georgia, you can visit the DDS Customer Service Center at 400 Whitehall Street, SW Atlanta, GA, 30303. It offers first issuances of licenses and regular knowledge exams amongst other services. However, getting your driver’s license requires more than just visiting the driver’s license office.
How to Get Your Driver’s License in Atlanta, Georgia
When it comes to getting your driver’s license in Georgia, there are several steps involved that vary based on your age.
Drivers Under 18 Years Old
If you're at least 16 years old but not yet 18, you can get a Class D Provisional License. However, you must have held your Learner's Permit for at least a year and a day, and can't have any major driving violations that resulted in permit suspensions. Georgia also requires you to satisfy Joshua's Law Requirements.
If you qualify, here are the steps to follow to get your license:
Complete the License/ID/Permit form online
Schedule an appointment for your road skills test
Prepare the required documents:
Proof of address
Proof of identity
Proof of US citizenship (or lawful status)
Proof of completion of an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP/eADAP)
Proof of enrollment in school
Certificate of completion for a drivers education course that satisfies Joshua's Law
Pass a vision exam
Pass the road skills test
Take a photo for your license
Pay the fee
Have a parent, guardian, responsible adult, or authorized instructor sign the License/ID/Permit form and show proof of their relationship with you
Once granted a Class D license, you'll be able to drive but will face several restrictions such as not driving between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. Once you turn 18, you can upgrade to a Class C license without the restrictions.
Drivers 18 Years of Age and Older
If you're an Atlanta resident who is 18 or older, you can get a Class C driver’s license by following these steps:
The first step is to complete the License/ID/Permit form online, which is required before you visit the Atlanta customer service center in person.
Next, schedule an appointment for your road skills test.
Present the required documents which include proof of your address, US citizenship, and identity.
Surrender any out-of-state government-issued ids, licenses, and permits.
Pass a vision exam.
Pass the knowledge exam.
Pass the road skills test.
Take a photo for your license.
Pay the license fee.
Once you've successfully completed all of these steps, you'll earn your unrestricted Georgia Class C driver's license!
How Much Does an Atlanta Driver’s License Cost?
According to the Georgia Department of Driver Services website, the cost of a regular (Class C) Atlanta driver’s license is $32, and it's valid for eight years. A Provisional (Class D) driver’s license costs $10 and lasts for two years. You'll pay the non-refundable $10 before taking the test.
Take 100% Online Driver’s Ed Courses in Atlanta!
If you're under the age of 18 and need to meet the Joshua's Law course requirement, Aceable offers a convenient and comprehensive online solution. Complete the 30-hour state-approved course from the comfort of home on a desktop computer or mobile device. Plus, gain access to unlimited in-app practice tests to ensure you feel 100% confident going into your Georgia permit test. Then, get the certificate you need to get your Class D license.