What Are Speeding Ticket Fines in California?
How much your speeding ticket will inevitably cost is hard to pinpoint. Prices are determined by the county in which you received the citation in. It may even hold additional charges depending on the circumstances, severity of the offense, and age of the offender.
What you can be sure of is that it’s going to be expensive. The state of California makes sure by administering a 20% surcharge to the cost. There’s a laundry list of cuts they pile on on top of that.
And that’s just in the public sector: county, city and state. In the private arena, your insurance company is likely to punish you for your misdeed by way of increased monthly fees on the basis of your lead foot proving high liability.
It’s More Than Just Money
Each ticket is going to cost you on your driving record. Speeding tickets equal one point on the driving record scoreboard but point should be thought of more as strikes. That’s because 4 in 12 months, 6 in 24 months, or 8 in 36 months means YOU’RE OUT! License, suspended.
How Fast Matters
But let’s get to what you came here for: the numbers. Cali is notorious for being one of the worst states in the nation for unruly speeding ticket fines. For that reason, the bullet points provide your “base” price and the what the fees often ending up costing based on the speed. Each speeding ticket gets 1 point on your driving record.
- From 1-15 mph over the speed limit
Base fee – $35
Total cost – $230+
- From 16-25 mph over the speed limit
Base fee – $70 Total cost – $360+
- 26+ mph over the speed limit
Base fee – $100 Total cost – $490+
These prices do not include the additional monthly fees applied by insurance. In an average case, your insurance provider will apply a certain percent increase to your monthly payment. That means that on top of the few hundos you are already forking over to the state of California, by the end of the year, you’ll have given hundreds more to your provider.
But that part is avoidable. You can enroll in California Traffic School in order to retain your present payments if approved by your provider.
Traffic school can be completed online for a minimal amount of time. You work at your own pace throughout the brush up courses and at the end, you automatically receive a digital certificate to present to your insurance on bended knee. Aceable offers this course for only $19.