We all have different styles of learning, and for Driver’s Education, it’s no different. Luckily, a growing number of states now allow you to complete your Driver’s Education course online. That’s great news to hear in the states where drivers ed is mandatory.
Does your state allow drivers to learn online? Check our roundup below to see if your state allows online Driver’s Ed courses!
States That Allow Online Drivers Ed
The following states allow online Driver’s Education courses as part of the process for obtaining a Driver’s License.
The Golden State lets you take California Drivers Ed online! Completion of a state-approved Driver’s Ed course (and passing the written test) is required to get your provisional permit. In California, you must be between 15 1/2 years old for a learners permit and 18 years old to get a provisional permit.
All prospective drivers between 15 years old and 15 ½ years old must complete a driver’s education course (30 hours), as decreed by the Graduated License Program.
All first-time drivers must successfully complete the Florida DATA drug and alcohol course before applying for a Florida learner’s permit. Applicants must be at least 15 years old.
As mandated by Joshua’s Law (Senate Bill 226), all 16 years olds applying for a Class D driver’s license must complete a Georgia Driver Education course and a total of 40 hours of supervised driving. Any Georgia student who does not complete an approved driver education course must wait until they are 17 years old to become eligible for a Class D driver’s license.
Driver's Ed is required for anyone younger than 17 years old and applying for their first driver’s license.
In Illinois, only adults over the age of 18 years old can take Drivers Ed online.
Indiana teens can take driver's ed online to receive their permit as early as 15.5 years old.
The state of Iowa began approving online drivers ed during the COVID-19 pandemic. Students can begin taking online courses after they pass the knowledge test even if they haven’t gotten an instruction permit.
Kansas drivers must take a state-approved driver's education course that is available online.
Driver’s education is required in Kentucky in order to get an unrestricted license before 18 years old. There is an online version of the course that can be taken while clocking the 60 hours of driving practice that’s needed to get a license.
Completion of drivers ed or 50 hours of certified training behind-the-wheel is needed to get a provisional operator’s permit at 16 years old.
All new drivers who are younger than 18 years old must complete an approved driver's education program. Prospective drivers can enroll in a Driver’s Ed course when they’re at least 15 years old and obtain a learner’s permit when they are 15 ½ years old.
Online Driver’s Ed passed in Ohio as part of a larger budget bill in June 2012. Applicants younger than 18 years old must complete an Ohio Driver’s Education course before obtaining a probationary Ohio driver’s license. Prospective drivers can enroll in a Driver’s Ed course once they are 15 years and 5 months old, and apply for an Ohio learner’s permit when they turn 15 years and 6 months old.
Oklahoma allows for parent taught drivers ed, but teens will need to take a formal drivers ed course to get a learners permit at 15 ½ years old.
Online Drivers Ed in Pennsylvania is a great way to pursue your happiness. The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation requires completion of Driver's Ed in order to obtain a PA driver's license before turning 18 years old.
You’ll only be required to complete a traffic school course if you have been convicted of multiple moving violations while on your intermediate restricted license. In Tennessee, some course providers may allow you to complete the classroom component online.
If you’re 24 years old or younger, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires the completion of a Driver's Ed course in order to obtain your first driver's license. Luckily, you can take Drivers Ed online in Texas. You’ll be able to begin coursework once you turn 14 years old, but must be 15 years old in order to apply for a learner’s permit.
If you're 18 years old or younger, you must complete a driver's education course in Utah. In order to begin your course, you must be at least 15 years old and obtain your Utah learner’s permit first.
Driver's Ed is required for teenagers applying for their first driver’s license. First-time adult drivers are not required to take Driver’s Ed, but it can shorten the duration of their learner’s permit.
All new drivers under 18 years old must complete an approved Driver’s Education course. In order to obtain a Wisconsin instruction permit, you must also be at least 15 ½ years old and be enrolled in or have graduated high school or equivalent.
States Where Drivers Education Courses Are Not Necessary
These states do not require completion of a Driver’s Education course in order to obtain your permit or license. However, a course will always be helpful in helping you pass your written and driving tests and is strongly encouraged!
An Alabama learner's permit has a simple process to obtain. However, to get the restricted driver's license (Stage II) at 16 years old requires completion of Driver's Ed or behind-the-wheel training. Those over 18 may apply for a regular driver's license without formal Driver's Ed training.
In Alaska, it is not required to complete a driver’s education program to obtain your learner’s permit.
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) requires you to either take a driver's education course or complete supervised driving practice before applying for your graduated Arizona driver's license.
Although completion of a Driver’s Education course is not required in Arkansas, you are allowed to take an online course in order to help you prepare for your written permit test and driving test.
Driver’s Education courses are not mandatory but may be helpful for preparing you for your written permit and driving tests.
Not required, but recommended to help you pass the knowledge test and earn your learner’s permit. Currently, traffic school can be taken online but there isn’t a remote learning option for drivers ed.
Online commercial driver’s education courses are not approved in South Dakota, but you may take an approved teen driver’s education course in-person to help reduce the time you’re required to hold a learner’s permit.
Not required, but an online Driver’s Ed course may help you pass the written permit test and driving tests. Completing a Driver's Ed course will also waive the required supervised driving hours for when you’re applying for your first license.
Not required, but helpful in preparing you for the DMV road test.
States That Do Not Allow Online Drivers Ed
These states do not currently allow online Driver’s Education courses, but cross your fingers - maybe one day!
*This article was updated on 11/3/2020